Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Calhoun County Convention

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, Bruce, Mississippi

Saturday, August 7, 2010

The 133rd annual session of the Calhoun County Sacred Harp Musical Association convened at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, Bruce, Mississippi. John Van Horn called the class to order leading 32t and 40. T.J. Funderburk offered the morning prayer.

President Van Horn called for corresponding delegates. Chickasaw County Convention answered with T.J. and Linda Funderburk and George Easley, who were duly seated. Visitors were recognized from Newton County Convention, Alabama, and Arkansas. President Van Horn appointed the executive committee as follows: Hugh Bill McGuire—Chairman, Mark Davis, and Robert Earl Alexander.

Leaders: Robert Earl Alexander 61, 122; Anne Steel 65, 47t, 47b (for T.J. Funderburk); Hugh Bill McGuire 445 (in memory of Billy Williams), 36b; Darlene Reynolds 569b, 490; Warren Steel 36t, 150; Linda Funderburk 37b, 37t; Arlon Gardner 83t, 277; Jeff Corbett 133, 66.


John Van Horn restored order and led 52t. Leaders: George Easley 34b, 538; Andrew Farris 178, 503; Wendell Rinehart 30t, 457; Mark Davis 352, 240; Henry McGuire 350, 504; Chuck Howell 225t, 49b; Virginia Carter 147b, 139; John Van Horn 53 (in memory of S.T. Hawkins).


After a bountiful and delicious lunch, John Van Horn called the afternoon session to order by leading 76b and 300. Leaders: Robert Earl Alexander 111t, 294; Andrew Farris 182, 163b; Anne Steel 336, 159; Wendell Rinehart 31t, 31b; George Easley 145b, 313t; Jeff Corbett 192, 480; Arlon Gardner 313b, 201; Warren Steel 360, 365; Henry McGuire 369, 269.

The following officers were retained: President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Virginia Carter. John Van Horn and Hugh Bill McGuire led 236.


The class was brought back together by John Van Horn leading 282. Leaders: Linda Funderburk 99, 163t; Mark Davis 302, 391; Darlene Reynolds 235, 145t; Andrew Farris 454; Jeff Corbett 344.

The Executive committee reported on finances, and reported no deaths in the past year. President Van Horn appointed delegates to the Chickasaw Convention, and to the Mississippi State Convention.

Following announcements, John Van Horn led 323t as the closing song. T.J. Funderburk dismissed the class with prayer.

President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Virginia Carter