Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Wales Singing

Gwehelog Chapel, Usk

Saturday, July 17, 2010

After a two-year absence, the Sacred Harp and Moody & Sankey singing weekend returned to Gwehelog Chapel. Judy Whiting called the class to order leading 31b and welcomed everyone. Ruth Steggles offered an opening prayer.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 171; Chris Brown 338, 31t; Ruth Steggles 47t, 350; Michael Walker 129, 401; Hannah Land 33b, 29t; Dave Richardson 303, 105; Judy Whiting 503, 273; Ted Brown 225t, 49b; Margaret Gillanders 36b, 523; Chris Brown 466, 467; Ruth Steggles 441, 430.


Michael Walker called the class back together leading 157 and 187. Leaders: Hannah Land 186, 145t; Margaret Gillanders 39t; Dave Richardson 37b, 274b; Helen Brown 379, 349; Chris Brown 128, 127; Ted Brown 81t, 35; Judy Whiting 546, 456; Ruth Steggles 99, 30t; Michael Walker 29b, 131t; Hannah Land 318, 56b; Dave Richardson 473. John Kappes gave thanks for the noon meal.


Dave Richardson called the class back to order leading 274t. Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 77t, 76b; Helen Brown 240; Chris Brown 40, 28b; Ruth Steggles 213t, 455; Ted Brown 426b, 445.

Michael Walker spoke on behalf of the following deceased: Jerry Enright—Illinois; Henry Japheth Jackson—Alabama; Denis Beckingham, Jim Clay, Barbara Scott, Florence Green, Audrey Nathan, and Audrey Whittaker—United Kingdom.

Michael also spoke on behalf of the following sick and housebound: David Daykin, June of Redditch, Tom Hodgkinson, Jimmie Gilmore, Lonnie Rogers, George Seiler, Debbie Essig, Maureen Gamlin, and Nora Jeffrey. In their honor, he led 229, and offered prayer.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 540, 549; Dave Richardson and John Hopkinson 84; Hannah Land 542, 73b; Helen Brown 517, 518.


Michael Walker called the class to order leading 138t and 434. Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 475; Chris Brown 267; Ruth Steggles 457; Ted Brown 97; Judy Whiting 178; Hannah Land 142; Helen Brown 227; Dave Richardson 496.

There was a short business session, in which it was agreed to meet again at Gwehelog on Saturday before the third Sunday in July, 2011.

Chris Brown and Judy Whiting led 323t. John Hopkinson offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Judy Whiting; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders