Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Clifford Wakefield Memorial Singing

King School House, Mt. Vernon Baptist Church,
Natural Bridge, Alabama

Sunday, June 20, 2010

The 102nd session of the annual Clifford Wakefield Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Mt. Vernon Baptist Church, Natural Bridge, Alabama, on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Travis Keeton leading 48t. The opening prayer was offered by Warren Steel. Travis Keeton led 348b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Debbie Hall; Arranging Committee—Faye Donaldson.

Leaders: Warren Steel 47t, 36b; Somen Goodman and Masti Mayrand 49b, 82t; Gary Smith 31t, 565; Don Keeton 373, 129, 329; Kelly Kennedy 472, 547; Richard Schmeidler 66, 155; Willodean Barton 63.


The class was called back together by Larry Ballinger leading 67. Leaders: Kermit Adams 99, 200; Lena Keeton 34b, 475; Leon Ballinger 454, 280; Earl Ballinger 439, 438; Sarah Smith 406; Sarah Smith and Seth Poston 274t; Lisa Geist 549, 178; Cathryn Bearov 179, 368; Samantha Pirnak 45t (in memory of Barbara Evans), 61.


Travis Keeton brought the afternoon session to order by leading 56t. Leaders: Chris Ballinger 44, 339; Gravis Ballinger 120, 49t; Steve Adams and Lisa Geist 331, 378t; Josie Hyde 434, 477; Seth Holloway 527, 388; Debbie Hall 426b, 183; Logan Donaldson, Jacob Donaldson, Seth Poston, and Margaret Keeton 224, 59; Seth Poston 124, 275b.

Wayne Wakefield, Wendell Wakefield, Larry Wakefield, Nadine Willis, Clara Stults, Julia Poston, Faye Donaldson, Betty Baccus, and Debbie Hall led 333 and 391 in memory of their parents and other family members.

Leaders: Leon Ballinger 490; Masti Mayrand and Somen Goodman 163b, 268; Warren Steel 203; Richard Schmeidler 474, 38t; Gary Smith 171, 503; Cathryn Bearov 114, 347; Don Keeton 384, 270; Steve Adams 309.

Travis Keeton and Larry Ballinger led 62 as the closing song. Earl Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Debbie Hall