Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Little Vine Primitive Baptist Church

Empire, Walker County, Alabama

Sunday June 20, 2010

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held at Little Vine Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in June. Standing in for Chairman Danny Creel, Ken Tate called the class together by leading 30t and 31b. Henry Guthery offered the morning prayer.

A business session was held with the motion made to retain the same officers as follows: Chairman—Danny Creel; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Emily Creel Burleson; Arranging Committee—Kathy Robinson.

Leaders: Virginia Ely 475, 546; Hannah Tate 436, 542; Yancy Jett 108b, 277; Delone Cobbs 39b, 32t; Elsie Moon 349, 348b; Ann Jett 136, 146.


Henry Guthery called the class back together leading 434, 45t. Leaders: Cindy Adams and Kathy Robinson 480, 48t (for Mattie Reid Creel); Mark Davis 137, 159; Kathleen Robbins 142, 442; Wanda Capps 222, 171.


Ken Tate called the class back by leading 75. Leaders: Bailey Jett 59, 108t; Kathy Robinson 49b, 454; Billy Williams 410t; Juanita Cobb and Tammy Westbrook 268, 334; Virginia Ely 411, 564.


Henry Guthery called the afternoon session to order by leading 318. Leaders: Hannah Tate 282; Cassie Allen 213t, 432; Velton Chafin 34t (for Mamie Reid Creel), 35; Yancy Jett 172; Delone Cobbs 161, 63; Emma Calvert and Ainslie Allen 76b; Ann Jett 319, 512 (for Harrison Creel); Sylvia Childers 143, 101t; Mark Davis 297, 200; Kaci Robinson 30t; Bailey Jett 59 (by request); Velton Chafin 399b; Henry Guthery 413; Wanda Capps 53; Wanda Capps, Shelley Calvert, Emma Calvert, and Ainslie Allen 124.

Announcements were made. Ken Tate led 119 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Henry Guthery, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Danny Creel; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Kathy Robinson