Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Darien Primitive Baptist Church
Singing and Homecoming

Tallapoosa County, Alabama

Sunday, May 23, 2010

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Darien Primitive Baptist Church near Wadley, Alabama, was held on the fourth Sunday in May. A short welcome was extended by Bill Thomas, followed by prayer offered by Don Clark. Don Clark led 36b (CB) and 82t (CB).

A business session was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—Don Clark; Vice Chairman—Gaylon Powell; Secretary—Charlotte Bishop.

Leaders: Wendy Futral 500 (CB), 60 (CB); Jack Nelson 408 (CB), 480; Judy Chambless 142, 501; Charlotte Bishop 511b (CB), 463 (CB); Paula Fagan 488b (CB), 38t (CB); Nancy Redmon 45t, 100; Sharon Whitehead 358 (CB), 229 (CB); Dave Richardson 488t (CB), 105; Pete Mathewson 68t (CB), 68b (CB); Susie Mathewson 569b, 47t.

At this time, a short business meeting for the Cemetery Trust Fund was held with reports given by Claire Bishop Caldwell and Steve Welsh. The congregation sang 59 followed with preaching by Bro. Jason Cawthon from Friendship Primitive Baptist Church, Thomaston, Georgia.


The afternoon session was called to order by Don Clark directing 290 in memory of Bobby Jackson. Leaders: Karen Clark “I Will Call Upon the Lord”, “Jesus What a Friend to Sinners”; Laura Densmore 522, 101b; Floy Wilder 120, 300; Karen Willard 29b, 348t; Virginia Futral 489, 145b; William Futral 490, 101t; Gaylon Powell 432 (CB), 346 (CB); Don Clark 49b (in memory of Lessie Bishop Langley); Karen Clark 573 (CB), 465 (CB); Pete Mathewson 54t (CB); Jack Nelson 318, 560; Susie Mathewson 32t; Laura Densmore 201; Dave Richardson 278t, 153; Karen Willard 330b; Gaylon Powell 244 (CB).

Following announcements, the class sang 347 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell.

Chairman—Don Clark; Vice Chairman—Gaylon Powell; Secretary—Charlotte Bishop