Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, September 27, 2009

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in September was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Elder J.L. Hopper leading 326 and 327. The morning prayer was offered by Bud Oliver.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Brandon Thompson and Nancy Thompson.

Leaders: J.L. Hopper 207; Brandon Thompson 335, 39b; Jonathon Thompson 68b, 32t; Nancy Thompson 405, 49b; Rodney Ivey 47t, 225t; David Light 318, 112; Judy Caudle 312b, 36b; Lomax Ballinger 67, 168; Bud Oliver 145b, 30t.


The class was called back to order by Jonathon Thompson leading 84. Leaders: Michael Thompson 341, 275b; Clayton Ezell 300, 358; Joyce Lambert 127, 56t; Susan Holmes 313t, 441 (in memory of Pauline Cobbs); Gerald Holmes 28t, 268; Danny Arms 120, 302; Lena Keeton and Ernestine Parker 146 (for Glenn Keeton), 63; Gordon Wilkinson 434; Cheyenne Ivey and April Watkins 77t, 277; Loyd Ivey 176t, 378t; Chrissie Watkins 270, 457. Lomax Ballinger offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by J.L. Hopper leading 354b. Leaders: Hubert Nall 129, 176b; Darrell Swarens 81t, 72b; Jim Aaron 163b, 503; Delone Cobbs 73t, 480; Carol Newman 220, 405; Sonya Sipe 39t, 47b; Jennifer Clay and Beth Anne Clay 63; Garrett Sipe 274t; Anna Grace Sipe and Ailee Martin 569b; Craig Holmes 479, 66; Angela Myers 82t; Nell Morris 428, 61; Beth Anne Clay 542; Daniel Hopper 54, 117; Judy Caudle 459 (in memory of Bera Bradford), 276 (for Bridgett Hill); Michael Thompson 76b; Danny Arms 200; J.L. Hopper 245 (by request), 254 (by request), 269 (by request).

J.L. Hopper led 323t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Daniel Hopper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle