Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cornelius Benjamin Keeton Memorial

Shady Grove (Keeton Cemetery), Walker County, Alabama

Sunday, September 20, 2009

The 38th annual Sacred Harp singing at Shady Grove (Keeton Cemetery) held on the third Sunday in September was called to order by Travis Keeton extending a warm welcome and leading 73t. Glenn Keeton offered the morning prayer. Travis Keeton led 37b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Lena Keeton; Arranging Committee—Elizabeth Keeton.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 166b; Willodean Barton 274t, 270; Ken Tate 271t, 114; Kermit Adams 81t, 147t; Margaret Keeton 122, 325; Anne Chalker 146, 235; Lena Keeton 34b, 497 (in memory Benny and Maude Keeton and in honor of Nell Sorsby, Leonard Keeton, and Arlon Keeton); Lisa Geist 394, 546; Judy Caudle 411, 345b; Larry Ballinger 345t, 540; Richard Mauldin 35, 72b; Elizabeth Keeton 378b, 354b.


The class was called back to order by Glenn Keeton leading 76b. Leaders: Marlin Beasley 75, 406; Stella Pratt 318; Mike Hankins 303, 471; Steve Adams and Elizabeth Keeton 101t, 309; Harrison Creel 111b; Amber Davis 391, 142; Gravis Ballinger 78, 176b; Juanita Beasley 61, 39b; Glenn Keeton, Lena Keeton, Arlon Keeton, and Leonard Keeton 47b (in memory of Benny Keeton).


The afternoon session was brought to order by Travis Keeton leading 421. Leaders: Hannah Tate 436, 282; Henry Guthery III 434, 456; Betty Baccus 571 (CB), 134; Velton Chafin 567, 437; Henry Guthery 507 (for Josie Hyde), 365 (for Josie Hyde); Richard Mauldin 168; Lisa Geist 360; Ken Tate 220; Willodean Barton 498, 480 (in memory of John Hocutt); Harrison Creel 512; Anne Chalker 388; Marlin Beasley 144; Kermit Adams 99; Mike Hankins 490; Henry Guthery III 530; Velton Chafin 187; Henry Guthery 534; Glenn Keeton 349 (for Clarence McCool).

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton and Travis Keeton led 267 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Henry Guthery, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Lena Keeton