Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Christian County Historical Museum, Taylorville, Illinois

September 19-20, 2009

Saturday, September 19

The 25th annual Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention was opened by Janet Fraembs leading 49t. She welcomed everyone to this special anniversary event, and after opening announcements, Don Baker offered the morning prayer.

The following officers and committees were previously elected or appointed: Chairperson—Janet Fraembs; Honorary Chairperson—Marcia Johnson; Co-Chairperson and Secretary—Martha Tyner; Treasurer—Barbara Moore; Chaplains—Don Baker and Don Bardsley; Arranging Committee—Berkley Moore and Barbara Moore; Finance Committee—Mark Graber; Memorial Committee—Becky Browne, Don Bardsley, and Joan Aldridge.

Leaders: Marcia Johnson 97; Terry Hogg 147 (MH); Don Baker 312b; Berkley Moore 14 (MH); Terry Cunningham 63; John Seaton 28t; Martha Tyner 59; Peggy Brayfield 29t; Gary Gronau 547; Virginia Eldridge 549; Richard Popp 145b; Val Dunagan 128; Rebecca Eldridge 500; Ted Johnson 405; Steve Warner 168; Lou Kujawinski 162 (MH); Susan Geil 565; Bob Sullivan 503; Randy Neufeld 151 (MH).


Marcia Johnson brought the class back to order leading 123b. Leaders: Dick Dunagan 49b; Daniel Braithwaite 107 (MH); Michael Appert 146; Pattie Doss 175 (MH); Anne Heider 171; Penny Kujawinski 200; Pete Ellertsen 32t; Cathryn Bearov 148 (MH); Jim Helke 160 (MH); Darrell Swarens 72b; Karen Isbell 84 (MH); Ted Mercer 42 (in memory of Dean Slaton); Presley Barker 89 (MH); Judy Hauff 77 (MH) (in memory of Jeanette Lowry); James Page “North Montpelier”; Joan Aldridge 542; Johanna Fabke 472; Ryan Wheeler 149 (MH). Janet Fraembs invited the class to lunch and Don Baker offered the blessing.


The afternoon session was called to order by Ted Johnson leading 354b. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 68 (t? b?); Peggy Mistak 49b; Katherine Eldridge 87.

Janet Fraembs conducted a session in commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the first Illinois Sacred Harp convention held in Paxton, Illinois, in 1985. Janet, Marcia Johnson, Ted Mercer, and Judy Hauff shared the story of the first gathering, intended as a meeting between groups in Charleston, Illinois and Chicago, with choir-like presentations by each group. Hugh McGraw’s arrival, with Bylaws in hand and accompanied by a group of singers from the south, opened a lot of eyes and changed the course of singing for both groups. As part of their remarks, Marcia Johnson led 38t and Ted Mercer led 208, as they had at the first convention. It was noted that this was only the 2nd convention to take place outside of the South at the time, and a number of individuals in attendance were instrumental in the spread of Sacred Harp singing throughout the North. Commemorative tote bags were presented to those who had been at the first convention, and to past chairpersons of the Illinois Convention, with additional bags available for purchase. Everyone was also invited to take a copy of a booklet of reminiscences of past conventions, compiled by Janet Fraembs and with photos compiled by Peggy Brayfield. Janet led 532, and the afternoon singing continued.

Leaders: Grace Scrimgeour 216; Anita Buswell 473; Don Keeton 480; Lori Graber 53; Ruth Dolby 350; Don Bardsley 277.


The class was called to order for the final session of the day by Presley Barker leading 276. Leaders: Anne Heider 268; Terry Cunningham 133; Richard Popp 196; Susan Geil 369; John Seaton 47t; Gary Gronau 127 (MH); Steve Warner 131 (MH); Michael Appert 344; Ted Johnson 300.

Following announcements, Janet Fraembs led 46 as the closing song. Don Baker dismissed the class with the closing prayer.

The Saturday evening social included 25th anniversary cake and ice cream and more memories of the first convention.

Sunday, September 20

Janet Fraembs called the Sunday session of the Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention together leading 31t. Don Bardsley offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Martha Tyner 324; Peggy Brayfield 195; Lori Graber 278b; Berkley Moore 137 (MH); Joan Aldridge 272; Becky Browne 474; Myles Alexander 129; Zee Charles 209; Bill Rintz 268; Anita Buswell 100; James Page 170 (MH); Johanna Fabke 373; Don Keeton 76b; Ruth Dolby 178 (MH); Mary Caldwell 159; Grace Scrimgeour 33b.


The class was called back to order by Don Bardsley leading 163b. Leaders: Ryan Wheeler 29 (MH); Terry Hogg 180 (MH); Peggy Mistak 148; Melanie Hauff 113 (MH); Judy Hauff 80 (MH); Karen Isbell 78 (MH); Ted Mercer 62 (MH).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Joan Aldridge, Don Bardsley, and Becky Browne. Joan Aldridge spoke for the following sick and shut-ins: Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Mary Jean McGuire, David Carlton, Josie Hyde, Clarence McCool, Karen Hojnacki, Cindy Kisse, Edna McKinny, Patsy Brodnicki, Richard DeLong, Lee Steinmetz, Doris Steinmetz, Mary Sutherland, John Plunkett, and Charlie Derleth. She reminded us how easy it is, in this day of cell phones and email, to contact these people and let them know we think of them, and led 134. Don Bardsley led “Friday” by John Beabout.

Becky Browne led 36b for the following deceased: Mary Ellen Durhan, Lafetta Buie, Earl Sparks, Bill Milligan and Matine—Illinois; Tom Porter—Illinois/Georgia/Florida; William Reynolds—Tennessee; Jean Morris, Bill Ellason, and Gil Fisher—Missouri; Blossom Miller—New York. Becky Browne closed the lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Presley Barker 481; David Kaeser 142; Janet Fraembs 335; Martha Tyner 479; Peggy Brayfield 8 (MH). Don Bardsley offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Martha Tyner leading 155. Leaders: Berkley Moore 290; Becky Browne 430; Anita Buswell 523; Myles Alexander 515; Zee Charles 107; Bill Rintz 51 (MH); James Page 34 (MH); Johanna Fabke 475; Don Keeton 317; Ruth Dolby 138 (MH); Lori Graber 108b; Grace Scrimgeour 287; Don Bardsley 528; Ryan Wheeler 448t; Terry Hogg 142 (MH); Peggy Mistak 457; Karen Isbell 384; Ted Mercer 70 (MH); Presley Barker 11 (MH).


Jim Page called the class together leading 52t. Leaders: Lissa Blood 204; Judy Hauff 135 (MH); David Kaeser 127 (MH); Melanie Hauff 277; Janet Fraembs 147 (MH); Martha Tyner 58; Lori Graber 318; Peggy Brayfield 84 (MH); Terry Hogg 172 (MH).

Janet Fraembs presented the Resolutions report, thanking all who helped with this Convention, and all who made the past 25 years of conventions possible, with particular mention of Lori Graber, Peggy Brayfield, Ted Mercer, Frank Fraembs, and the Christian County Historical Museum.

Following announcements, the convention closed with the singing of 347, taking of the parting hand, and closing prayer by Don Bardsley.

Chairperson—Janet Fraembs; Secretary—Martha Tyner