Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Calhoun County Sacred Harp Musical Association

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, Bruce, Mississippi

Saturday, August 8, 2009

The 132nd session of the Calhoun County Sacred Harp Musical Association met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church in Bruce, Mississippi, on Saturday before the second Sunday in August. President John Van Horn called the class to order leading 30t and 32t. He appointed Robert Earl Alexander to serve as Chaplain, who then offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Robert Earl Alexander 108b, 108t; T.J. Funderburk 63, 47b.

President Van Horn appointed Hugh Bill McGuire, Mark Davis, and Andy Davis to serve as the Executive Committee. A motion was made to seat delegates George Easley, T. J. Funderburk, and Elder Charles Porter from the Chickasaw Convention. The motion was seconded and carried to seat

the delegates.

Leaders: Elder Charles Porter 136, 137; Darlene Reynolds 569b, 490; Wilma Mitchell 147t, 47b; Ann Steel 203, 148; Natalie Davis 354b, 345t; ArIon Gardner 67, 106.


John Van Horn called the class back together by leading 186. Leaders: Jeff Corbett 350, 56t; John Merritt 429, 271t; George Easley 34b, 313t; Chuck Howell 373, 112; Warren Steel 213t, 224; Mark Davis 56b, 283; Jamie Corbett 45t, 133; Linda Funderburk 278t, 278b.


John Van Horn called the afternoon session to order leading 200. Leaders: Kevin Dyess 176t, 547; Andy Davis 198, 254; Hugh Bill McGuire 236; T.J. Funderburk 61, 68b; Darlene Reynolds 145t; Wilma Mitchell 480; Ann Steel 285t, 157; Natalie Davis 145b, 79; ArIon Gardner 277, 163t; Jeff Corbett 326, 361; George Easley 438.

In a business session, a motion was made, seconded, and carried to retain the same officers as follows: President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Virginia Carter; Chaplain—Robert Earl Alexander.


John Van Horn called the class back to order leading 36b. The

Executive Committee made the following reports: one death in the previous year, W.J. (Joe) Cobb; recommended to meet back at Bethel Church on the Saturday before the second Sunday in August, 2010; reported collections, expenses, and balance carried forward. Motion was made and seconded to adopt these reports.

Leaders: Chuck Howell 232; Mark Davis 392, 396; Warren Steel 383, 495; Kevin Dyess 274t, 348b; Andy Davis 400, 182; Jamie Corbett 344.

John Van Horn appointed delegates to the Chickasaw Convention and the Mississippi State Convention as follows: Hugh Bill McGuire, Alice McGuire, John Van Horn, and Andy Davis. Motion was made and carried to adjourn until 2010.

After announcements were made, John Van Horn led 122 in honor of the secretary, Virginia Carter, who was not in attendance due to the illness of her brother. T.J. Funderburk dismissed the class with prayer.

President—John Van Horn