Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Big Sioux River (South Dakota) Singing

Stavanger Lutheran Church, North Sioux City, South Dakota

Saturday, August 8, 2009

The 2nd Big Sioux River Singing was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in August at Stavanger Lutheran Church, located on the grounds of the Adams Homestead and Nature Preserve in North Sioux City, South Dakota. Before the class was called to order, Jim Solheim gave a short explanation of the Hardanger fiddle. Then while his daughter, Jenny, played two Norwegian dances, Jim demonstrated Norwegian folk dancing with the help of volunteer partners, Annie Grieshop and Bonnie Davis.

Judy Hauff called the class to order leading 48t and 56t. She welcomed everyone and gave visitors a brief introduction to Sacred Harp singing.

Leaders: Judy Hauff 65; Annie Grieshop 36b; Aura Lee Furgason 551; GeorgeAnn Evans 86; Jean Lubke 84; Melanie Hauff 40; Jan Ketelle 368; Hannah Avery 268; Elizabeth Avery 361; Bonnie Davis 210; Sue Pearson and Shoshanna Avery 354b; Mary Ann Meisner 503; Rhonda Machlan 335.


Judy Hauff called the class back to order leading 159. Leaders: Jim Goetz 312b; Ken Wells 142; Shoshanna and Micah Avery 45t; Paul Wyatt 313t; Jim Solheim and Jenny Solheim “Brokke”; Jon Pearson 349; Brad Levy 523; Charlotte Baldwin 40; Annie Grieshop 344; Jean Lubke 178; Hannah Avery 59; GeorgeAnn Evans 146; Aura Lee Furgason 549; Melanie Hauff 385t; Mary Ann Meisner 122; Jan Ketelle 200; Bonnie Davis 30t; Rhonda Machlan 299; Sue Pearson 532; Elizabeth Avery 502; Jon Pearson 66; Paul Wyatt 400; Jim Solheim “Nomeland”; Ken Wells 236; Jim Goetz 209; Charlotte Baldwin 209; Jim Solheim and Jenny Solheim 218.

Judy Hauff led 347 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand.

Co-Chairpersons—Judy Hauff and Melanie Hauff; Secretary—Bonnie Davis