Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ivey Memorial Singing

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, March 29, 2009

The annual Ivey Memorial singing held at Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama, on the first fifth Sunday was called to order by Shane Wootten leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Reba Windom.

Leaders: Shane Wootten and Norma Green 61 (in memory of Mattie Townsel); David Ivey 403 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Rodney Ivey 91; Reba Windom 176b; Hobert Ivey 47t; Blake Sisemore 74b; Shannon Primm 316; Robert Kelly 290; Jane Spencer 53; Ed Thacker 172 (in memory of B.J. Harris); Judy Chambless 99; Pierce Phillips 573 (CB); Jeannette DePoy 347 (in memory of her mother and Scott’s mother); Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 283; Joyce Walton 269; Oscar McGuire 229; Eloise Wootten 426b; Linton Ballinger 306; Sandy Ivey 56t; Robert Walker 143 (in memory of his mother and aunt); Linda Sides 225t (in memory of Dr. William Reynolds); Scott DePoy 201; Pam Nunn 189; S.T. Reed 483; Charlene Wallace 128 (in memory of Dr. Reynolds); Bentley McGuire 95; Karen Ivey 182; B.M. Smith 475.


The class was brought back to order by Joel Jenkins and Shane Wootten leading 77t. Leaders: Adam Biddle 108t; Betty Wright 68b; Eschol Hughes 454; Jenna Strizak 228; Aaron Wootten 480; Laura Clawson 142; Henry Johnson 521; Judy Caudle and Bridgett Hill 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Robert Chambless 39b; Carolyn Thompson 315; Tony Ivey 157; Linda Thomas and Susan Harcrow 430; Michael Thompson 385b; Jessica Ivey and Cheyenne Ivey 76b; Michael Spencer 191; Elene Stovall 192; Dewayne Wootten and Aaron Little 213t, 354t; Dennis George and Tom George 51; Brenda Carroll 299; Nathan Rees 380; Sarah Jenkins and Jackson Harcrow 67; Andrew Farris 120; Julietta Haynes 200; Jarrod George 277; Ivy Biddle and Loyd Ivey 424.


The afternoon session came to order when Shane Wootten and Mark Carroll led 313t. Leaders: Lomax Ballinger and Bud Oliver 129; Jackie Tanner 421; Jeff Sheppard 556; Nate Green, Norma Green, Alex Makris, and Renee Makris 312b; Lynne deBenedette 220; Allison Whitener, Cassie Allen, and Jennie Mann 559 (CB); Matt Hinton 383; Daphene Causey 451.

Shane Wootten presented a picture of Uncle Jack and Aunt Annie Ivey. Their grandchildren (Loyd Ivey, Eloise Wootten, Coy Ivey, Hobert Ivey, and Norma Green) led 406 and 571 (CB).

Leaders: Marty Wootten 546; Cindy Tanner 187; Lela Crowder and Erica Hinton 542; Jonathan Smith and Katie 222; Brian Maxwell, Jaren Maxwell, Avalea Maxwell, Isaac Maxwell, Gabriel Maxwell, Ryan Maxwell, Anzlea Maxwell, Alexandra Craig, and Zach Craig 335; Sharon DuPriest 318; Loyd Ivey, Marion Biddle, Ivy Biddle, Adam Biddle, Martha Underwood, Lily Underwood, and Theresa Bethune 501 (CB), 511b (CB); Rick Hoffman 503; Shelbie Sheppard and Jonathan Smith 211; Sylvia Ivey, Lorrie Wootten, and Hayden Wootten 448b; Karen Rollins and Randa Harris 178; Marlon Wootten 31t; Marilyn Burchett 29t; Ricky Harcrow 391; Rachel Shavers 155; Loretta Smith 563 (CB); Kelley Smith 44; Claudine Townsend 540 (CB); Lauren Hall, Blake Sisemore, and Daniel Sears 448t; Kathy Smith 47b; Jane Freuler and Morgan Freuler 39t.

Announcements were made. Shane Wootten, Marlon Wootten, Loyd Ivey, and Hobert Ivey led 146 as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Reba Windom