Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lillian Calvert and Irene Woodley Memorial

Pleasant Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Boldo, Alabama

Saturday night, January 10, 2009

The 54th session of the Lillian Calvert and Irene Woodley Memorial singing was held at Pleasant Grove Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday night before the second Sunday in January. The class was called to order by Ken Tate leading 56t. The opening prayer was offered by John Merritt. Ken Tate led 335.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ken Tate; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretaries—Wanda Capps and Emily Creel; Arranging Committee—Ann Jett and Cindy Tanner.

Leaders: Ken Tate 278t; Glenn Keeton 122; Bea Carnathan 472; Larry Ballinger 540; Hubert Nall 31b; Gary Smith 276; Velton Chafin 395; David Roberson 222; Elene Stovall and Gresham Davis 37b; Mary Godsey 100; Sarah Smith and Danica Thornton 401; Willodean Barton 454; Eldagene Roberson 142; Judy Caudle 325; Brenda Merritt 277; Emily Creel 455; Henry Guthery 120; John Merritt and Max Berueffy 86; Cindy Tanner 436; Josh Keeton 268; Max Berueffy and Karin Covi 501, 566; Doris Talley 39b. Prayer was offered by Henry Guthery before refreshments were served.


The class was brought back to order by Ken Tate leading 145t. Leaders: Hannah Tate 144; Wanda Capps 203; Lena Keeton 179; Bailey Jett and Julianna Jett 108b, 108t; Elsie Moon 376; Margaret Gowan 358; Jetty Naramore 460; Ann Jett and Yancey Jett 35, 64; Fay Kitchens 75; Travis Keeton 155; Harrison Creel 111b, 530; Ken Tate 340 (for Edna Graves); Glenn Keeton and Josh Keeton 511b (CB) (for L.H. Gilmore).

Following announcements, Ken Tate led 475 in memory of Flarce Creel. The closing prayer was offered by John Merritt, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ken Tate; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Wanda Capps