Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern Wisconsin Singing

Plum Grove Church, Folklore Village Farm, Dodgeville, Wisconsin

Saturday, November 8, 2008

The 22nd annual Southern Wisconsin singing was held at Plum Grove Church, Folklore Village Farm, Dodgeville, Wisconsin, on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Peter Bradley leading 31t. Joyce Anderson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Dick Dunagan and Val Dunagan 350; Marjorie Matthews 277; Jan Ketelle 40; Joyce Anderson 354b; James Page 272; Laura Densmore 302; Ginny Landgraf 183; Anna Pfau 171; John Seaton 47t; Janet Fraembs 186; Jeff Breting 107; Gordon Olson 197; Charlotte Baldwin 155; Lori Graber 195; Irene Lawrence 300; Anita Shaperd 383; Midge Olson 454; Terry Hogg 430; Cathy Lutz 290; Carol Munro Mosley 455; Denise Kania 217.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Julie Vea, Arranging Committee—James Page and Paula Goode; Chaplains—Joyce Anderson and Carl Houtman; Finance Committee—Marjorie Matthews; Secretary—Val Dunagan.


Julie Vea called the class to order leading 106. Leaders: Paul Wyatt 76b; Bonnie Davis 68b; Ryan Wheeler 156; Jason Chance 236; Martha Henderson 411; Michael Moore 60; Darrell Swarens 198; Penny Kujawinski and Julie Thompson 216; Charles Wells 38b; Carol Crawford 210; Kit Canright 49b; Ted Mercer 36t; Jeff Bell 394.

A memorial lesson was held with Jan Ketelle leading 340 for the following sick and shut-ins: Margie Baron, Mary Chevalier, Annie Grieshop, Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Margaret Guell, Linda Farley, Dorothy Arndt, John Eigel, Peg Pearson, Gary Gronau, Evelyn Harris, Clare Cardy, Rochelle Lodder, Richard Grayson, James Z. Bell, Roy Wyatt, John Martinson, Dorothy Ackerman, and Loren Tesdell.

Laura Densmore led 300 in memory of the following deceased: Wally Bloch, Eleanor Phillips, Studs Terkel—Illinois; Bethalee Harpst—Ohio; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Edith Tate—Alabama; Jeannette Lowry—Missouri; Edward F. Wagner, Mort Dodds, Jill Brown—Iowa; Sister Polly and Charlotte Tann—Kentucky; Craig Waggoner, Roxane Crawford, Leroy Berg—Wisconsin; Marilyn Darch—California; Lee Rogers—Georgia; Lilia Springer—Wisconsin and Georgia; Dave Kracum, Charles Johnson—Minnesota; Barbara Neal—Minnesota and Colorado. Carl Houtman closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leader: Peggy Brayfield 28t. The lunch blessing was offered by Carl Houtman.


James Page called the class to order leading 99. Leaders: Paul Landskroener 473; Jim Helke 403; Eleanor Haase 352; Nathan Berry 86; Johanna Fabke 441; Peter Bradley 112; Marjorie Matthews 319; Jim Pfau 318; Matt Wells 163t; Cassie Lang 472.


Julie Vea and Renee Arbisi called the class to order leading 157. Leaders: Stacey Berkheimer 445; Kim Bahmer 209; Lisa Grayson 419; Kristie Harju 168; Karen Swenson and Bonnie Davis 466; Emilie Karas 39t; Charlotte Baldwin 442; Dave Minden 268; Julie Vea 218; Irene Lawrence 29t; Terry Hogg 43; Laura Densmore 542; Lou Kujawinski 490; Anita Shaperd 192; Penny Kujawinski 474; Janet Fraembs 378b; Darrell Swarens 335; Jim Crawford 546; Anna Pfau 142.


Julie Vea called the class to order leading 178. Leaders: Carl Houtman 47b; Peggy Brayfield 510; Martha Henderson 470; Ginny Landgraf 504; Jeff Breting 108b; Stacey Berkheimer 344; Lisa Grayson 224; Carol Crawford 433; Kit Canright 129.

Joyce Anderson offered the closing prayer. Julie Vea led 347 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Julie Vea; Secretary—Val Dunagan