Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Chicago/Hyde Park Singing

Augustana Lutheran Church, Hyde Park, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, November 1, 2008

The 10th annual University of Chicago/Hyde Park Singing was brought to order at 9:33 a.m. by Rachel Adelstein leading 492. Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer. This singing uses The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, and The Missouri Harmony (MH).

Leaders: Ginny Landgraf 176b; Randy Neufeld 99; Nick Pasqual 72b; James Page 13 (MH); Michael Mosley 62 (MH); Jim Swanson 139 (MH); Assunta Osterholt 82t; Bill Beverly 19 (MH); Pleasance Crawford 150; Jim Helke 315; Lena Keeton 123t; Ted Johnson 368 (in memory of Studs Terkel); Ann Miczulski 145b; Steve Warner 40; Karen Swenson 442; Don Keeton 406; JoDell Albi 77 (MH).

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Co-chairpersons—Cathryn Bearov and Clare Cardy; Secretary—Ginny Landgraf.


Cathryn Bearov and Clare Cardy brought the class back together leading 128. Leaders: Susan Geil 565; Darrell Swarens 542; Debbie Barford 163b; Peter Bradley 344; Anne Heider 120; Chuck Crawford 287; Martha Beverly 475; Lisa Cohen 148 (MH); Ted Mercer 417; Nancy Katzen 472; Clare Cardy 457; John Seaton 47t; Melanie Hauff 81 (MH); Carol Munro Mosley 148; Dave Barford 276; Judy Hauff 68 (MH); Jeff Breting 108b; Anita Shaperd 180; Jeremy York 503; Marcia Johnson 288; Cathryn Bearov 127 (MH); Rachel Adelstein 131 (MH); Jim Helke 177 (MH).

Since this is the tenth anniversary of this singing, in lieu of the usual memorial lesson, Cathryn Bearov and Clare Cardy conducted a commemoration lesson outlining the history of the group in Hyde Park and honoring the singers who have helped make the group what it is and passed through the group into the wider Sacred Harp community. John Seaton then offered a memorial minute for Wally Bloch, a local singer who had passed away since the most recent Chicago singing. John led 69t in his memory, and offered a prayer.

Leaders: Ginny Landgraf 7 (MH), Lena Keeton 546; Nick Pasqual 1 (MH), Pleasance Crawford 476. Jim Swanson offered the blessing and the class adjourned for lunch.


Randy Neufeld brought the afternoon session to order by leading 29t. Leaders: Anne Heider 474; Chuck Crawford 378t; Nate Zweig 145t; Peter Bradley 228; Audra Village 196; Debbie Barford 269; Molly Whedbee 122; Darrell Swarens 569b; JoDell Albi 135 (MH); Michael Appert 297; Don Keeton 388; Karen Swenson 162 (MH); Lisa Cohen 486; Megan Dunning 86; Steve Warner 84; Lisa Grayson 113 (MH); Ann Miczulski 101t; Ted Johnson 99 (MH); John Seaton 47b; Clare Cardy 532; Bill Beverly 168 (MH); Jim Swanson 399b; Michael Mosley 440.


Ted Mercer brought the class back together by leading 106. Leaders: James Page 34 (MH); Rachel Adelstein 167 (MH); Cathryn Bearov 138 (MH); Marcia Johnson 464; Nancy Katzen 473; Lisa Cohen 485; Martha Beverly 131t; Anita Shaperd 56b; Jeff Breting 448b (in memory of Studs Terkel); Judy Hauff 172; Dave Barford 181; Carol Munro Mosley 455; Melanie Hauff 216; Cathryn Bearov and Clare Cardy 209 (by request).

Announcements were made. A business session was held for the purpose of hearing committee reports.

The Finance Committee reported that there was a shortfall and that anyone wishing to donate further should see Randy Neufeld, Treasurer. The Secretary reported that 87 songs were led by 44 leaders from 7 states and one Canadian province. There was also a registrant from England.

Cathryn Bearov and Clare Cardy led 347 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand. Jim Swanson offered the closing prayer.

Co-chairpersons—Cathryn Bearov and Clare Cardy; Secretary—Ginny Landgraf