Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

McWhorter Memorial

Mars Hill Primitive Baptist Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, October 18, 2008

The annual McWhorter Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Mars Hill Primitive Baptist Church in Cleburne County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Cecil Roberts, who extended greetings to everyone before leading 32t. Ed Thacker offered the morning prayer. Cecil Roberts led 33b; Tony Hammock 60, 283.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Tony Hammock; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 229, 76b; Tony Hammock 83b; Donna Bell 75, 87; Judy Chambless 565, 274t; Ed Thacker 76t, 82b; Virginia Dyer 28b, 34t; Robert Chambless 47t, 145t; Stanley Edwards 396, 504; Michael Walker 134, 77t.


The class resumed singing with Tony Hammock leading 376. Leaders: B.M. Smith 99, 318; Lonnie Rogers 97, 186; Jeff Sheppard 187, 205; Charlene Wallace 201, 209; Curtis Hamrick 137 (in memory of his grandfather, John Newton Hamrick), 436 (in memory of his mother, Eldora Hamrick); Karen Rollins 454, 84; George Garner 112; Mary Jo Shafer 452, 225t; Shelbie Sheppard 313t; 453; Carlene Griffin 448b, 155 (in honor of Evelyn Harris); Ann Simpson 147t, 445; Michael Walker 317; Donna Bell 146; Virginia Dyer 340 (in memory of Vonn Dryden); Robert Chambless 72b. Ed Thacker offered the blessing for the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Tony Hammock leading 544. Leaders: Karen Rollins 540; Ed Thacker 176b; Stanley Edwards 58; Mary Jo Shafer 335; Jeff Sheppard 542; B.M. Smith 204 (in memory of J.T. Pruitt), Lonnie Rogers 475; Curtis Hamrick 314; Ann Simpson 47t (in honor of Evelyn Harris); George Garner 348b; Carlene Griffin 133; Shelbie Sheppard 333; Judy Chambless 354t; Michael Walker 31t; Mary Jo Shafer 178; Tony Hammock 32b; Virginia Dyer 480; Stanley Edwards 208; Ed Thacker 35; Donna Bell 49b (in memory of Billy Joe Harris); Karen Rollins 446 (in honor of her uncle, Jimmie Denney); B.M. Smith 393 (in honor of Margie Smith).

Cecil Roberts dedicated each song sang today in memory of all deceased Sacred Harp singers, stating they will remain in our hearts forever.

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts led 347 as the closing song. Ed Thacker offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Tony Hammock; Secretary—Donna Bell