Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Quebec Sacred Harp Convention

Bishops College School Chapel, Lennoxville,
and Town Hall, Ways Mills, Quebec

July 11-12, 2008

Friday, July 11

David Dutton called the 14th annual Quebec Sacred Harp Convention to order at the chapel of Bishops College School, Lennoxville, Quebec. Cheryl Stroud led 47t and Chuck Neville offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Bob Parr 36b; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 276; Howard Katz 99; Susan Jaster 503; Scott Luscombe 479; Chuck Neville 68b; Bobbie Goodell 40; Chuck Crawford 569b; Pleasance Crawford 492; Jackie Hall 528; Kyle Greenlee 178; Cheryl Stroud 455.


Leaders: Chris Weslowski 300; Cathy Brochet 86; Bob Parr 171; Gillian Inksetter 472; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 48b; Howard Katz 212; Susan Jaster 313t; Scott Luscombe 362; Chuck Neville 163b; Bobbie Goodell 344; Chuck Crawford 72b; Pleasance Crawford 476; Kyle Greenlee 129; Cheryl Stroud 198; Chris Weslowski 143; Cathy Brochet 523; Bob Parr 270; Gillian Inksetter 31t; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 189; Howard Katz 30b; Susan Jaster 569t; Scott Luscombe 430; Chuck Neville 49b; Bobbie Goodell 540; Chuck Crawford 535; Pleasance Crawford 348 (t? b?); Jackie Hall 155; Kyle Greenlee 481; Cheryl Stroud 183.

The closing prayer was offered by Chuck Neville.

Saturday, July 12

The Saturday session of the Quebec Sacred Harp Convention was called to order, at the Town Hall of Ways Mills, Quebec, by Chuck Neville leading 178. He then offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Howard Katz 99; Bruce Kokern 38t; Gillian Inksetter 84; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 209; Bob Parr 128; Carole Dempsey 114; Paul Gauthier 34t; Virginia Neville 38b; Leonard Spencer 250; Kyle Greenlee 454; Wendy Gilchrist 56b; Chuck Crawford 63; Christopher Weslowski 143; Elka Schumann 315; Pleasance Crawford 485; Scott Luscombe 532; Jackie Hall 87; Bobbie Goodell 503; Susan Jaster 174; Chuck Neville 68b.


The class was called back to order. Virginia Neville led 480 and Mae Tettero led 288.

Cathy Brochet conducted the memorial lesson, leading 452 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Joel Katz, Johanna Fabke, Monica Graf, John Pratt, James Brown, and Virginia Luscombe.

The following deceased were remembered: Gail Birch, Bob Baldwin—Maine; John Minty, Jenny Reynolds, Elvyn Baldwin, Viola Jones—Quebec; Minja Lausevic—Minnesota; Amanda Denson Brady, LaRue Allen—Alabama; Homer Benefield—Georgia; Jim Armstrong—New York; Sulimar—New Jersey; Sunshine Rodriguez-Bloch—Switzerland. Cathy Brochet led 347, and concluded the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Susan Jaster 266; Howard Katz 475; Bruce Kokern 551; Carole Dempsey 142; Gillian Inksetter 66; Paul Gauthier 182; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 474; Christopher Weslowski 107; Elka Schumann 454; Pleasance Crawford 232; Bob Parr 180.


Chuck Neville called the class back to order leading 47t. Leaders: Alexis Walker 294; Chuck Crawford 369; Kyle Greenlee 86; Cathy Brochet 547; Cheryl Stroud 53; Virginia Neville 163b; Leonard Spencer 260; Wendy Gilchrist 39t; Jackie Hall “Ten Thousand Charms”; Scott Luscombe 353; Pleasance Crawford 564; Mae Tettero 47b; Chris Weslowski 300; Elka Schumann 40; Bob Parr 112; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 377; Paul Gauthier 362; Gillian Inksetter 448b; Virginia Neville 146; Cheryl Stroud 99; Alexis Walker 354b; Cheryl Stroud 455; Steve Crevoshay 268; Kyle Greenlee 95; Chuck Neville 147t; Pleasance Crawford 436.


Leaders: Chris Weslowski 162; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 515b; Bobbie Goodell 196; Paul Gauthier 504; Cheryl Stroud 198.

Announcements were made. The dates for the 2009 convention were set to be the 10th and 11th of July.

Leaders: Chuck Neville 569b; Howard Katz 30b; Alexis Walker 424; Pleasance Crawford 314; Virginia Neville 38b; Gillian Inksetter 457.

Chairpersons—David Dutton and Chuck Neville; Secretary—Chuck Neville