Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Carolina State Singing
in Memory of William Walker

Wofford College, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Saturday, March 15, 2008

The 13th annual session of the South Carolina State Singing in memory of William Walker was held in the Burwell Building at Wofford College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, on the Saturday before the third Sunday in March. The books used during the singing were The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition and The Christian Harmony (1873/1994). A singing school principally on the four-shape method was conducted by Hugh McGraw leading 49t (SH).

Dan Huger gave additional comments regarding the seven-shape method, then led 210t (CH).

Mr. McGraw recognized Dr. Doyle Boggs of Wofford College, who welcomed the singers, and introduced Dr. Gerald Thurman.

Mr. McGraw proposed that the morning session be given to the Christian Harmony, and the afternoon session to The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Dan Huger led 77b (CH).

The class held a business session with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Arranging Committee—Dan Huger (CH) and Jonathon Smith (SH). Business session closed.

Leaders: John Plunkett 116t; Nathan Rees 58t; Chris Wilhelm 58b; Ken George 208b; Walter Hartley 59t; Danny Arms 135; Jonathon Smith 105b; Frances Carnell 171t; Hugh McGraw 214.


The singing resumed with Caroline Parsons leading 219b (?). Leaders: Bill Burns 381A; Diane Eskenasy 51; Steve Walker 67b; Chris Berg 207t; Bobbi Albert 178b; Charles Lowery 68b; Leon Carnell 141b; Dan Huger 120t; Nathan Rees 293; Chris Wilhelm 154t; Ken George 381C; Walter Hartley 369; Danny Arms 134; Jonathon Smith 89b; Frances Carnell 88 (t? b?); John Plunkett 120b (“Spartanburg”—Note: “This song was composed March 15, 1873”—135 years to the day!); Hugh McGraw 117; Caroline Parsons 215; Bill Burns 157. John Plunkett offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jonathon Smith leading 59. Leaders: Diane Eskenasy 222, 155; Leon Carnell 503; Frances Carnell 36b, 569b; Hugh McGraw and Jeanne Fowler 278b; Bobbi Albert 523; Caroline Parsons 282, 335; John Plunkett 500, 84 (for Ginny Faust); Ken George 45t, 47b; Nathan Rees 440; Katie Slusher 31t; David Witherspoon 178; Chris Wilhelm 268 (in memory of Jack Fried), 484; Bill Burns 164, 127.


The class was brought together by Dan Huger leading 267 and 32t. Leaders: Robert Kelley 28b, 144; Danny Arms 177; Walter Hartley 480, 247 (?); Steve Walker 107, 208; Becky Walker 145t.

Following announcements, John Plunkett led 46 as the closing song, and offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Hugh McGraw; Vice Chairmen—Dan Huger and Jonathon Smith; Secretary—Dan Huger