Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jones Chapel Senior Citizens Center

Cullman, Alabama

July 3, 1996

The annual July Memorial Singing was held on the first Wednesday in July. Henry Guthery called the class to order leading song on page 134. Cecil Sanders led song on page 166. Leaders were called by Cecil Sanders: Keterina Sanders 89, 269; B. B. Mattox 129; A. D. Chandler 61, 136; Ruth Walker 48 (t? b?) in memory of her mother, Aver Crider, and 290; Betty Shaver 145t, 155; Odie Horton 282; Martha Woodard 274b, 274t; Travis Keeton 276, 297; Pernie Pelfrey 183t, 275 (t? b?).


Henry Guthery called the class back to order by leading song on page 273. Leaders: Hershell King “That Beautiful Land”, 347; Reedie Evans 300, 304; Clayton Ezell 507, 144; Marie Guthrie “The Great Roll Call”; Billy Williams 325b, 120; Gordon Wilkerson 215, 430; Charlie McCoy 280, 240; Elvin Guthrie 225 (t? b?), 164; Lavert Howell 68b.

The memorial of those that passed away last year was held at this time. Our friends and loved ones were as follows: Otto McCoy, Aver Crider, Agnes Hocutt, Tom Roberson, and Ervin Creel. Betty Shaver led song on page 217 in memory of her day, Otto McCoy; Eron White 234 in memory of Aver Crider; Pernie Pelfrey 475 in memory of Agnes Hocutt; Travis Keeton 182 in memory of Tom Roberson and Ervin Creel. Marie Guthrie led song on page 411 for the sick and shut-ins: Alpha Black, Cecil Gilliland, Ruby Phillips, Virgil Phillips, Essie Calvert, Vernice Calvert, Terry Wootten, L. E. Hannah, John Hyde, J. L. Oden, and Mary Oden. The memorial was closed with prayer by Ulys Walker.

The class resumed singing with the following leaders: Edith Tate 106; Flarce Creel 229; Betty Shaver 143; Gordon Wilkerson 144; Clayton Ezell 460; Henry Guthery 45t (Amazing Grace).


Henry Guthery brought the class back to order leading song on page 188. Leaders: Gordon Wilkerson 298; Don Robinson 200, 100; Lavert Howell 73t; Ruth Walker 112; Edith Tate 35; Lora Cargo 222; Billy Williams 54; Flarce Creel 299; Marie Guthrie 189; Martha Woodard 448 (t? b?); Elvin Guthrie 495; Clayton Ezell 485; Eron White 340, dedicated to everyone that helped with lunch, singers, and listeners; Reedie Evans 434. After announcements were made, Henry Guthery led song on page 568 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Clayton Ezell, mayor of Lawrenceburg, Tennessee.

Chairman—Henry Guthery; Secretary—Eron White.