Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Burnham and Brown Memorial

Wesley Foundation, Jacksonville, Alabama

Sunday, February 3, 2008

The annual singing in memory of Uncle Bob Burnham, Leman Brown, and Ruth Brown was held at the Wesley Foundation Building on the campus of Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville, Alabama, on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Pearl Guier leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Louis Hughes. Pearl Guier welcomed everyone and led 40.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 176t, 176b; Pam Nunn 186, 220; Shelbie Sheppard 440; S.T. Reed 354t, 428; Judy Chambless 99, 288; Cecil Roberts 32t, 97; Sharon DuPriest 212, 318; Bud Oliver 145b, 421; Betty Wright 347; Loyd Ivey 73t, 30t; Kenneith Calvert 287, 143.


The class was called back to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 75. Leaders: Bridgett Hill 299; Joyce Walton 213t; Karleen Williams 146; Jan House 151; Robert Chambless 72b; Malik Williams 37b; Cheyenne Ivey and Anna Hinton 82t.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Jeannette DePoy; Arranging Committee—Pam Nunn.

Leaders: Louis Hughes 498; Jeannette DePoy 387; Ed Thacker 517; Karen Rollins 136; Judy Caudle 183.


Pearl Guier led 303 to call the class together. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 365; Nathan Rees 568; Myron House 545; Nate Green and Norma Green 208; Karen Ivey 542; Charlene Wallace and Mary Reid 276; Scott DePoy 32b; Lonnie Rogers 389, 348b; Sandra Wilkinson 472; Hugh McGraw 213b; Stephanie Tingler 141; John Plunkett 464; Jonathan Smith 203; Matt Hinton and Erica Hinton 33b, 503; Reba Windom 209. John Plunkett offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 383. Leaders: David Ivey 456; Richard DeLong 407; Louise Holland 273; Henry Johnson 278b; Joan Aldridge 486; Judy Mincey 180; Anne Simpson 452; Lou Cotney 358; Rene Greene 454; Evelyn Harris 47t; Angela Riley and Rene Greene 45t; Nellie Mae White 47b; Coy Ivey, David Ivey, and Rodney Ivey 384; Louise Holland, Jan House, and Myron House 49b; Bridgett Hill, Karen Ivey, and Rene Greene 200; Joyce Walton, Nate Green, and Norma Green 314 (for Milton Oliver); Lonnie Rogers, Karen Rollins, and Karleen Williams 340; Daphene Causey, Sharon DuPriest, Reba Windom, and Joan Aldridge 327; Loyd Ivey, Bud Oliver, and S.T. Reed 42; Betty Wright, Judy Chambless, and Anne Simpson 480; Louis Hughes, Judy Caudle, and Stephanie Tingler 76b; Sandra Wilkinson, Scott DePoy, and Jonathan Smith 300; Evelyn Harris, Cecil Roberts, and Ed Thacker 155; Henry Johnson, Kenneith Calvert, and Robert Chambless 123t; Richard DeLong, Nathan Rees, and Jeannette DePoy 380; John Plunkett and Judy Mincey 216 (for Shelbie Sheppard); Pearl Guier, Jeff Sheppard, and Pam Nunn 122, 142 (both songs in memory of Ruth Brown).

Following announcements, Pearl Guier and Jeff Sheppard led 46 as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Jeannette DePoy