Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

August 18-19, 2007

Saturday, August 18

The 118th session of the Cleburne County Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Stanley Edwards. Ed Thacker offered the morning prayer.

Donna Bell was appointed as Secretary. Following introductions of many out-of-town singers, Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard taught a singing school.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 143; Patty Ruehl 312b; Kelly Macklin 540; Kevin Griffin Moreno 276; Kim Moreno 111b; Tony Hammock 303; Aldo Ceresa 300; Lou Cotney 222; Carri Grindon and Rick Sandman 479.


The afternoon session opened with Stanley Edwards and Jeff Sheppard leading 56t. Leaders: Aldo Ceresa 564; Nathan Rees 208; Jonathon Smith 566; Karen Reaves 335; Judy Caudle 57; John delRe 213b; Cecil Roberts 163b; Al Grindon and Rick Sandman 155; Karen Clark 354t; Evelyn Harris 30t; Ann Howe Simpson 445; Donna Bell 31t; Robert Chambless 145b; Mary Jo Shafer 503; Judy Chambless 63; Ed Thacker 460; Rachel Speer 77t; Leyland delRe 468; Kim Moreno 230; Andy Anderson 31b; Lonnie Rogers 225t; Richard DeLong 116; Ruth Daniel 378t; Howard McGuire 192; Joe Sanders 63; B.M. Smith 475; Karen Rollins 327; Olivia Iverson and Pauline Deese 144; Shelbie Sheppard 29b; John delRe 29t; Kelly Macklin 477; Mary Jo Shafer 410t; Nathan Rees 306.

Following announcements, Stanley Edwards led 62 as the closing song. The Saturday session was dismissed with prayer by Cecil Roberts.

Sunday, August 19

The Sunday session of the Cleburne County Convention was called to order by Stanley Edwards leading 59. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer.

Kevin Griffin Moreno led the introductory lesson from a 1936 edition of The Sacred Harp which was given to the convention by the family of J.W. Laminack. The book was given with instructions that this is the only time that the book could be used. Kevin led 70t, 82t, and 425. Leaders: Bridgett Hill 276; Henry Johnson 29b; Louis Hughes 472; Audress Gurley 282; Betty Shepherd 299; Karen Clark 218 (in memory of LaRue Allen): Kim Moreno 296; Eugene Forbes 168; Don Clark 99; Karen Rollins 178; Aldo Ceresa 572; Lonnie Rogers 318.


Glenda Collins and Burt Collins brought the class back to order leading 81t. Leaders: John delRe 152; Erin Mills 312b; Robert Kelley 227; Rachel Speer 328; Louise Holland 44; Ann Redding 340; Ed Thacker 532; Joyce Walton 455; Joan Aldridge 474; David Ivey 172; Karen Ivey 187; Tony Hammock 196; Mike Thompson 277; Jeanette DePoy 390; Cassie Allen 436 (in memory of LaRue Allen); Kelly Macklin 157.


The class was brought back to order by Stanley Edwards leading 58. Leaders: Rodney Ivey and Bridgett Hill 440.

Jeanette DePoy conducted the memorial lesson and sited words from “DeLong” in remembrance of LaRue Allen, who passed away suddenly on Thursday. Karen Ivey led 208 for the following deceased: Julian Murphy, Mirjana Lausevic, B.J. Harris, Kenneth Walton, Flarce Creel, Herby Bailey, Wilton Donaldson, Alma Edwards Owen, Buck Owen, and LaRue Allen.

Tom Malone led 378t for the following sick and homebound: Dick Mauldin, Violet Thomason, Elder Lewis Norton and wife, Elder Harvey Sanders and wife, Elder Homer Benefield, Katherine Benefield, Milton Oliver, and Pauline Oliver. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by John Plunkett.

Leaders: George Garner 503; Judy Caudle 54; Scott DePoy 179; Cecil Roberts 97.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairlady—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Donna Bell; Chaplain—Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 176t; Judy Chambless 531.


The afternoon session began with Stanley Edwards and Aldo Ceresa leading 42. Leaders: Nathan Rees 422; John Plunkett 150; Tommy McGraw 191; Sandra Wilkinson 176b; Bud Oliver 421; Howard McGuire 269; Earlis McGraw 170; Louise Owen and Hester Edwards 143; Leyland delRe 200; Robert Chambless 75; Gavin Blakeley 192; Ruth Daniel 335 (in memory of B.J. Harris); Richard DeLong 530 (in spirit of LaRue Allen); Tom Malone 548; Lela Crowder 322; Shelbie Sheppard 518; Donna Bell 480; Karlene Williams 171; Ann Howe Simpson 452; Cassie Allen and Aldo Ceresa 430; Phillip Langley 546; John delRe and Carri Grindon 212; Erin Mills and Rachel Speer 73b; Lela Crowder and Nathan Rees 348b; Bud Oliver, David Ivey, and Karen Ivey 56b; Eugene Forbes, Myrline Redmon, and Ann Redmon 569b; Mike Thompson and Judy Caudle 112; Earlis McGraw and Tommy McGraw 283.

Announcements were made. Stanley Edwards and Patty Ruehl led 62, and those who wished took the parting hand. The convention was dismissed with prayer by Cecil Roberts.

Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairlady—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Donna Bell