Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Eugene Singing

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Eugene, Oregon

Saturday, July 28, 2007

The 10th annual Eugene Singing was held in the sanctuary of the Good Shepherd Lutheran Church on the last Saturday of July. Martha Sherwood called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 100 in honor of Ruby Littleā€™s recent 100th birthday. Tony Meyer offered the invocation.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Martha Sherwood; Secretary/Treasurer—Carolyn Gilkey.

Leaders: Steve Helwig 480; Susan Helf 528; Jim Brock 72b; Kathy Vlach 350; David Landazuri 39t; Leigh Van Sickle 32t; Erik Schwab 315; Jean Murphy 171; Erika Wilson 148; John Dinsmore 45t; Tom Gerber 277; Carolyn Gilkey 474; Martha Johnson 546; David Wright 297; Karen Willard and Vicki Morgan 298; Phillip Haines 448b; Karen Stingle 504; Scott Kennedy 149; Arcana Ferschke 134.


Martha Sherwood brought the class back to order by leading 47t. Leaders: Tammi Ziola 328; Gary Plouff 500; Jack Lofton 198; Rachel Foster 335; Bill Walters 86; David Tobin 410 (t? b?).

Nancy Brendle conducted the memorial lesson and led 65 in memory of the sick and shut-ins. Those honored were Amanda Denson, Rose Normand, Tom Helf, and Linda Liang.

Jean Murphy led 122 for the deceased. Those remembered were Mirjana Lausevic—Minnesota and Sarajevo; B.J. Harris—Alabama; Bill Roskam and Fred Noel Spiess—California; Vera Pace—Utah; Laura Jimenez—Quito, Ecuador; Molly Ivins—Texas; Gwendolyn Cope Brendle and Julietta Taylor—Oregon, Minne Hall—Illinois; Ruth Picini—Washington.

Leaders: Fran Ross 143; Rosie Lindsey 48t; Connie Stanton 441; Reed Schilbach 312b; Dorothy Robinson 284; Chris Cotter 189; Meg Larson 414; Audrey Karabinus 74t; Thom Farhbach 396 (in memory of Minja Lausevic); Anne Huckins 200; Martie Hoadley 268; Karl Osward 523; John Carson 361. Chaplain Tony Meyer asked a blessing on the noon meal.


Michelle Holder and Steve Helwig brought the afternoon session to order leading 300. Leaders: Arcana Ferschke 47b; Tammi Ziola 114; Ericka Wilson 383; Erik Schwab 107; Jim Brock 551; Jane Grant 510; Anne Huckins 36b; David Landazuri 569b; Kathy Vlach 276; Lyle Lindsey 84; Leigh Van Sickle 462; Carolyn Gilkey 384; Tom Gerber 35; John Dinsmore 532; Betsy Jeronon 163b; Karen Willard 419; Phillip Haines 330t; Karl Oswald 535; Karen Stingle 318; David Wright 455.


Erik Schwab brought the class back together leading 565. Leaders: Connie Stanton 192; Suzanne Denker 56b; Susan Helf 61; Rachel Foster 288; Scott Kennedy 146; Reed Schilbach and Anita Kropf 497; Meg Larson 549; Martha Johnson 430; Jack Lofton 168; David Tobin and Jack Lofton 198; Bill Walters 267; Dorothy Robinson 112; Marcia Stedman 454; Thom Fahrbach 271t; Chris Cotter 217; Gary Plouff 567; Fran Ross 236.

Treasurer Carolyn Gilkey reported that all expenses had been covered through generous donations. Steve Helwig reported that 75 singers from 3 states had registered.

Erika Wilson offered the resolutions report, thanking everyone who had contributed to make the singing a success. The class was invited to the annual post singing Croquet match.

Martha Sherwood led 155 as the closing song and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Martha Sherwood; Secretary—Carolyn Gilkey