Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hillabee Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Daviston, Alabama

Sunday, July 22, 2007

The Hillabee Convention was held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in July. Eugene Forbes called the class to order leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Stanley Edwards.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Jenny Acton; Arranging Committee—Nell Estes and Charlotte Bishop.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 75; Jacob Acton and Jenny Acton 108b, 45t, 354b; Nell Estes 46, 49b, 40; Audress Gurley 36b, 108t, 274t; Robert Chambless 72b, 145b; Carla Smith 61, 282, 334; Brandon Acton and Jacob Acton 63, 388; Judy Chambless 100, 82t, 335.


The class was brought together by Eugene Forbes leading 438. Leaders: Stanley Edwards 340, 73t, 59; Floy Wilder 430, 432; Jeff Sheppard 392, 373, 176t; Jenny Acton 405, 137, 171; Jean Payne and Nell Estes 294, 560 (in memory of their dad, Elder R. Avery), 401; Charlotte Bishop 143 (for Sheila), 196, 268.


The class was brought back together for the afternoon session by Eugene Forbes leading 99 and 186.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Jeff Sheppard and Carla Smith. Jeff Sheppard led 28b in honor of Brenda Dean and 34t in memory of Bobby Jackson. Carla Smith led 111t in memory of Jim Monroe.

Leaders: Robert Chambless 503, 225t; Wendy Futral 101t, 37b; Virginia Futral 569b, 566; William Futral 490, 341; Jenny Acton and Charlotte Bishop 229 (CB); Jenny Acton and Jacob Acton 112; Eugene Forbes 155; Brandon Acton 385b; Jean Payne 480; Judy Chambless 339; Stanley Edwards and Jacob Acton 436; Floy Wilder 120; Jeff Sheppard 121; Audress Gurley 176b; Nell Estes 313t; Carla Smith 358; Charlotte Bishop 208.

Announcements were made. The home for this singing next year was voted on and will remain with Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church. Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by William Futral.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Jenny Acton