Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Poplar Springs Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia, off Hwy. 100

May 26, 1996

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing was held the fourth Sunday in May at Poplar Springs Baptist Church. Miranel Swafford called the class together leading song on page 348b. The morning prayer was led by Lonnie Rogers. Miranel Swafford led song on page 155; Charlene Wallace 63 and 79. The class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Vice Chairman—Florence Williams; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging and Memorial Committee—Mary F. Smith and Carlene Griffin. Leaders: Miranel Swafford 345 (t? b?); Florence Williams 569b, 78; Carlene Griffin 81 (t? b?), 126; Mary F. Smith 213 (t? b?), 277; Don Bowen 426 (t? b?), 448b; Alice Edwards 73b, 104; Margie Smith 405, 313t; Harvey Austin 101t, 108t; Bobby Bailey 452, 127; Revy Williamson 30 (t? b?), 112; Louis Hughes 31 (t? b?), 49 (t? b?) for I. V. McWhorter.


Miranel Swafford called the class back together leading song on page 137. Leaders: Evelyn Harris 47t, 225t; Norma Latham 354b, 388; B. M. Smith 389, 28b; Shelbie Sheppard 110, 142; Roy Nelson and Louise Nelson 87, 176t; B. J. Harris 340, 503; Judy Mincey 354 (t? b?), 163b; Lonnie Rogers 141, 186; Richard DeLong 41, 375; Jeff Sheppard 270, 140; Everette Denney 49b, 52 (t? b?). Brother W. A. Ivie, pastor of the church, welcomed everyone and blessed the food.


The afternoon session was called to order by Florence Williams leading song on page 490. Leaders: Phillip Langley 215, 47b; Elder Lewis Norton 172, 434; Avis Robinson 457, 59. A memorial lesson was given, and those remembered were: Mrs. Evelyn Liner, Effie Robinson, Belle Roberts, Rastus Adams, Ida Holcombe, and John Word. Lonnie Rogers led songs on pages 294 and 318. Richard DeLong led songs on pages 390 and 61 for the sick and shut-ins. The memorial was concluded with prayer by Rev. Ivan “Bud” Dingler. Leaders: Katherine Benefield 373, 378 (t? b?); Harvey Austin 335; Mildred Patterson and Ellen Walters 145 (t? b?); Louis Hughes 138 (t? b?); Natalie Williams 45t; Margie Smith 36b; Roy Nelson 128; Shelbie Sheppard 106; B. M. Smith 475; Judy Mincey 34b; Don Bowen 474; Norma Latham and Mia Makris 401; Bobby Bailey 68b; Elder Lewis Norton 39b; Everette Denney 161; B. J. Harris 445; Rev. Ivan “Bud” Dingler and B. M. Smith 143. Announcements were made. Miranel Swafford and Florence Williams led song on page 209 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by B. J. Harris.

Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Vice Chairman—Florence Williams; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.