Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mule Day Singing

Pastime Theatre, Winfield, Alabama

Saturday, September 23, 2006

This singing was dedicated to the memory of John Otto Hyde (August 10, 1919—September 9, 2006).

The third Mule Day Singing was called to order by Marlin Beasley, David Hillman “Chug” Beasley, Alvin “Bunk” Beasley, Cora Beasley Sweatt, Sarah Beasley Smith, and Becky Beasley Briggs leading 159. Marlin Beasley made opening remarks.

Leader: Lisa Geist 377; Brenda Merritt 163b; Jennifer Allred 279; Rachel Allred 389; Don Robertson 487; Danny Creel 89; Larry Ballinger 119; Henry Guthery 558; Velton Chafin 463; Seth Allred 107; John Merritt 358; Chris Ballinger 410t; Wayne Baines 480; Travis Keeton 475; Steve Helwig 440; Kermit Adams 157; Bea Carnathan 568; Lena Keeton 546 (in memory of John Hyde); Latrive Bailey 345t; Ann Jett and Harrison Creel 342; Susan Allred 399b; Jimmie Lou Gilmore 68b; Arthur Gilmore 565.

Marlin Beasley made a presentation of the first CD of the second Mule Day Singing to Charlotte Creel McCarn, sister of Teddy Creel. The singing was dedicated to the memory of Teddy Creel. Charlotte McCarn led 124.


The singing resumed with Marlin Beasley leading 282. Leaders: Bridgett Hill 556; Steve Adams 101t; Will Allred 196; Henry Guthery III 434; Caleb Allred 448t; Wilton Donaldson 100; Ken Tate 503; Nellie Alexander 81t; Gary Smith 225t; Larry Ballinger 220 (for Josie Hyde, in memory of John Hyde); Cora Sweatt 145b; Brenda Merritt and John Merritt 336; Chris Ballinger and Lisa Geist 120; Danny Creel, Harrison Creel, and Ann Jett 111b.

After brief announcements, Marlin Beasley led 521 as the closing song. Velton Chafin dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Secretaries—Seth Holloway and Ross Beasley.