Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emmaus Baptist Church

Carrollton, Georgia

May 5, 1996

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church was held the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Felton Denney leading songs on pages 72 (t? b?) and 73 (t? b?); Everette Denney 164, 34b; Sheri Taylor 77 (t? b?), 126. The morning prayer was led by Marshall Avery. The class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney ; Secretary—Sheri Taylor; Chaplin—Marshall Avery; Arranging and Memorial Committee—Jimmie Denney and Lonnie Rogers. Leaders: Bernard Denney 100, 145b; Josephine Denney 127, 452; Marshall Avery 32 (t? b?), 40; Roy Nelson 105, 87; Eloise Avery 340, 64; Liz Bryant 354 (t? b?), 475.


Everette Denney brought the class back together by leading song on page 503. Leaders: Tokay Boggs 68b, 111b; Jimmie Denney 101t, 313t, 63; Revy Williamson 203, 299; Denny Rogers 318, 345 (t? b?); Denny Rogers and Vivian Rogers 112; Wilford Denney 159, 143; Preston McClendon 436; Phillip Langley 268, 84; Louis Hughes 426 (t? b?).


Felton Denney brought the class to order leading song on page 448b. Leaders: Shelbie Sheppard 332, 368; Charlene Wallace 297, 441. The memorial was conducted by Lonnie Rogers. Songs on pages 225t and 45t were led for the following deceased: Grady Boggs, Mattie McClendon, Florence Pate Stephens, Mr. Smith and Ruby Gibson. Marshall Avery led songs on page 82 (t? b?) and 81t for the sick and shut-ins, remembering: Bill Green, Mozelle Sheppard, Jerry Sheppard, Mary Shadinger Walker, J. D. Muse, Lois Stanson, Alvin Stanson, Ruby Phillips, Virgil Phillips, and Norman Shadinger. Leaders: Bonnie Flowers 518, 28b; Mildred Patterson and Ellen Waters 457, 294; Bobby Bailey 27, 97; Lori Goode 59, 358; Gene Duke and Donna Duke 111t, 276, 36b; Debra Langley 155, 186; Paige Harrod 222; Margie Dietz 385b, 122; Jeff Sheppard 176t, 172; Carlene Griffin 146, 405; Everette Denney 55; Rev. Loyd Toney 128.

Everette Denney and Felton Denney led song on page 414 as the closing song. The closing prayer was led by Rev. Frank Andrews.

Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney; Secretary—Sheri Taylor.