Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Quebec Singing Convention

Lennoxville, Ways Mills, Quebec

July 7-8, 2006

Friday, July 7

The twelfth annual Quebec Singing Convention was called to order at the Bishop’s College School Chapel by Chairperson Cheryl Stroud leading 47t. An opening prayer was offered by Chuck Neville.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairperson—Cheryl Stroud; Secretary—Chuck Neville. Leaders: Bob Parr 66; Christopher Weslowski 143; Susan Jaster 569t; Scott Luscombe 472; Howard Katz 99; Chris Holley 277; Chuck Neville 68b; Eric Metzler 107; Cathy Brochet 86; Gaston White 40; Bobbie Goodell 159; Ishmael Stefanov 474; Virginia Neville 288; Bob Parr 475; Christopher Weslowski 178; Susan Jaster 94; Scott Luscombe 272; Howard Katz 481; Chris Holley 81t; Cheryl Stroud 455.


The class resumed singing. Leaders: Cheryl Stroud 117; Jackie Hall 217; Randy Johnson 65; Chuck Neville 163b; Eric Metzler 184; Cathy Brochet 547; Gaston White 186; Bobbie Goodell 299; Virginia Neville 122; Bob Parr 270; Ishmael Stefanov 344; Phil Dutton 410t; Christopher Weslowski 300; Scott Luscombe 354t; Chris Holley 503; Howard Katz 59; Jackie Hall 203.

The closing prayer was offered by Chuck Neville, and the class was dismissed.

Saturday, July 8

The convention was called to order at the Town Hall of Ways Mills, Quebec, by Chairperson Cheryl Stroud leading 47b. The opening prayer was offered by Chuck Neville.

Leaders: Jackie Hall 203; Elke Schumann 505; Randy Johnson 159; Chuck Neville 49b; Eric Metzler 33b; Cathy Brochet 347; Gaston White 236; Bobbie Goodell 479; Bob Parr 339; Ishmael Stefanov 513; Scott Luscombe 532; Susan Jaster 551; Chris Holley 384; Howard Katz 362; Janet Snyder 34b; Wendy Gilchrist 515; Laura McCarty 270; Danya Klie 188 (led by Ishmael Stefannof); Jackie Hall 528; Chery Stroud 183.


Cheryl Stroud brought the class to order leading 82t. Leaders: Bob Parr 38b; Pippa Hall 383; Elka Schumann 65; Eric Metzler 105; Mary Neville 547; John Henderson 146.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Chuck Neville. Harlin Knowles led 198 in memory of John Brunskill and Wendy Gilchrist led 569b in memory of Jim Armstrong. Both men were faithful participants of the annual Quebec Singing Convention. Other deceased remembered were Harold Saunders, Luis Jimenez, Myle Holley, Marie Burt, Ted Grossbaum, Cecile Brochet, and Maria Pruet; Gene Reid—Massachusetts; Gloria Brown—Georgia; Priscilla Baker—Vermont.

Chuck Neville read the names of the sick and shut-ins and led 163b in their honor: Paula Roberts, James Olney, Virginia Luscombe, Grace Kelley, and Harriet Harris. The memorial was concluded.

Leaders: Ishmael Stefanov 48t; Virginia Neville 454; Cheryl Strout 180.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Chery Stroud leading 117. Leaders: Gaston White 155; Bobbie Goodell 196; Bob Parr 430; Randy Johnson 45t; Scott Luscombe 531; Jackie Hall “Ten Thousand Charms”; Susan Jaster 113; Cathy Brochet 452; Chris Holley 268; Janet Snyder 84; Leonard Spencer 260; Wendy Gilchrist 56b; Laura McCarty 276; Chuck Neville 162; Pippa Hall 335; Elka Schumann 43; Eric Metzler 295; Mary Neville 455; John Henderson 503; Ishmael Stefannof 142.


The class resumed singing with Chery Stroud leading 47t. Leaders: Susan Jaster 150; Virginia Neville 163t; Gaston White 99; Howard Katz 30b; Bobbie Goodell 451.

The closing prayer was offered by Chuck Neville, and the class was dismissed.

Chair—Cheryl Stroud; Secretary—Chuck Neville.