Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day

Seacourt Hall, Botley, Oxford, England

Saturday, June 24, 2006

The eighth annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June. Chairman Edwin Macadam called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 47t. Alan Weeks offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Vice Chairman/Secretary—Sheila Girling Macadam; Chaplains—Ken Baddley and Bernard Collard; Arranging Committee—Steve Fletcher and Margaret Gillanders.

Sheila Girling Macadam welcomed the class and led 28t. Leaders: Bernard Collard 300; Ken Baddley 84; Rachel Jordan 228; Nick Hall 198; Mandy Townsend 318; Tony Singleton 163b; Dave Townsend 159; Ted Brown 503; Margaret Gillanders 203; Ian West 39t; Steve Fletcher 383; Shelby Sampson 315; Anna Baldini 107; Adrian Bolge 72b.


Edwin Macadam called the class back to order leading 504. Leaders: Sheila Girling Macadam 182; Bernard Collard 362; Ken Baddley 192; Rachel Jordan 269; Nick Hall 515; Tony Singleton 473; Mandy Townsend 439; Dave Townsend 457; Ted Brown 28b; Margaret Gillanders 68b; Ian West 384; Steve Fletcher 99; Shelby Sampson 178; Anna Baldini 86; Adrian Bolge 33b; Sheila Girling Macadam 186; Bernard Collard 120; Ken Baddley 110; Rachel Jordan 474; Tony Singleton 277; Mandy Townsend 142; Nick Hall 45t; Steve Fletcher 148; Ted Brown 147t. Edwin Macadam led a grace, set to the words of Charles Wesley’s “Jesus, We Thus Obey” and composed by Christopher Gardner, as the prayer before lunch.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Sheila Girling Macadam leading 299. Leaders: Ian West 32t; Shelby Sampson 30b; Margaret Gillanders 29t; Dave Townsend 40; Sarah Pinney 155; Edwin Macadam 306; Adrian Bolge 156; Anna Baldini 217; Rachel Jordan 501.

Ken Baddley conducted the memorial lesson and led 490 for the following: Jim Dalton, Barbara Foster, Donnie McGraw (Georgia), Alice Cole, Sally Lee, and Roland Laine (France).

The sick and housebound were recalled by Bernard Collard, and Sheila Girling Macadam led 475 for the following: Amanda Denson—Alabama; Richard DeLong—Georgia; Katy Buckley—California; James Oss—Illinois; Geoff Ashman, Fee Canning, Jo Franklin, Meela (Fiona’s friend), Helen Brown, and David Laidler. The memorial was closed.


The class resumed singing with Steve Fletcher leading 128. Leaders: Tony Singleton 496; Dave Townsend 112; Shelby Sampson 209; Adrian Bolge 34b; Sarah Pinney 74b; Bernard Collard 454; Nick Hall 127; Mandy Townsend 312t; Edwin Macadam 236.


The final session commenced with Ian West leading 480. Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 313t; Ted Brown 76b; Adrian Bolge 49b; Sarah Pinney 38b; Dave Townsend 551; Shelby Sampson 47b; Tony Singleton 344; Mandy Townsend 106; Nick Hall 497; Ken Baddley 481; Rachel Jordan 189; Bernard Collard 63; Steve Fletcher 312b.

Announcements were made and invitations extended to other Sacred Harp singing events around the country. Edwin Macadam and Sheila Girling Macadam thanked all the officers, committees, and anyone else who helped in any way to make this singing possible, and led 347 as the closing song. Ann Weeks offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Vice Chairman/Secretary—Sheila Girling Macadam.