Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing

Vineville United Methodist Church, Macon, Georgia

Saturday, April 15, 2006

The third annual Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in April at the Vineville United Methodist Church in Macon, Georgia. Harry Eskew welcomed everyone and introduced Hugh McGraw, who led 32t. Louis Hughes offered the morning prayer.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—Raymond Hamrick; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Jane Spencer and Earlis McGraw.

Leaders: Harry Eskew 146; Raymond Hamrick 81t; Charlene Wallace 59, 171; Allison Dodson and friends 378t, 335; Tony Hammock 111b, 400; Mary Brownlee 163t, 408; Lauren Harrison 503, 282; Robert Chambless 145b, 225t; Martha Almond 136, 490; John Plunkett 44, 52b; Martha Harrell 77t, 344.


The class was called together by Raymond Hamrick leading 350. Leaders: Rosemund Watson 66, 347; Louis Hughes 57, 540; Gregg Holmes 72b, 145t; Lela Crowder 422, 300; Malinda Snow 148, 101t; John Hollingsworth 409, 354b (for Billy Hollingsworth); Earlis McGraw 138t, 201; Glenn Latimer 47b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by John Hollingsworth. John Plunkett led 50t for the following deceased: Olin Gresham, Ruth Johnson, I.V. McWhorter, Donnie McGraw, and Sgt. Phil Dodson.

Lela Crowder led 68b for the sick and shut-ins: Bobby Jackson, Bernice Jackson, Felton Denney, and Josephine Denney. The memorial lesson was closed. Loyd Landrum asked the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was called together with Harry Eskew leading 39b. Leaders: Glenn Latimer 445, 358; Jason Hollis 299, 100; Faye Hollis 99, 63; Oscar McGraw 155, 441; Sharon Hamrick 276, 236; David Grant 166, 175; Judy Chambless 415, 82t; Bentley McGuire 42, 384; Jane Spencer 37b, 159.


The class resumed singing with Hugh McGraw and Edmund Golladay leading 143, 147t. Leaders: Tony Hammock 314; Mary Brownlee 365; Lauren Harrison 38b; Robert Chambless 303 (for B.J. Harris); Hugh McGraw 499 (for Mrs. Floyd Fredrick Stevens and daughter, Rachael Deems); Martha Almond 340; John Plunkett 45t (for Loyd Landrum).

Announcements were made. Harry Eskew led 62 as the closing song. Loyd Landrum dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—Raymond Hamrick; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.