Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Singing

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 28, 2006

The twenty-second annual William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas, on the last Saturday in January. This is the fifteenth year that the 1991 Revision of The Sacred Harp has been used. Dr. Tim Studstill called the morning session to order at 9:30 a.m. by welcoming everyone and introducing Dr. Lyndel Vaught, a faculty member of the School of Church Music at Southwestern. Dr. Vaught thanked everyone for coming and offered prayer. Dr. Studstill led 59.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Dr. Timothy Studstill; Secretary—Jacquelyn Clifton.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 217; Ryan Ross 178; Lindsey Wiggins 99; Gary Rogan 384; Owen Ross 442; Sarah Huckaby 39t; Reed Coates 186; H.P. O’Mary 67; Esther Huckaby 460; Jo Pendleton and Jonathan Pendleton 354b; Bruce Coates 49b; Donn Howard 163b; Jerry Ryan 111t; Crystal Meadows 274t; Beverly Coates 318; Vivian Rogan 86; Sonny Erwin 480; Scott Curran 203; Stephanie Turney 159; Billy Huckaby 208.


The class resumed singing with Dr. Studstill leading 127. Leaders: Ben Brown 148; Kris Wiggins 143; Kevin Lee 42; Mike Hinton 373; Douglas Foster 270; Robert Vaughn 566; Cheryl Foreman 475; Gaylon Powell 180; Ryan Ross 120; Lindsey Wiggins 34b; Gary Rogan 319; Owen Ross 532; Sarah Huckaby 454; Reed Coates 65; H.P. O’Mary 61; Esther Huckaby 358; Jo Pendleton 24 (t? b?). Gaylon Powell offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Bruce Coates leading 150. Leaders: Donn Howard 63; Jerry Ryan 145t; Crystal Meadows 218; Beverly Coates 313b; Vivian Rogan 282; Sonny Erwin 569b; Scott Curran 196; Stephanie Turney 547; Billy Huckaby 294; Ben Brown 551; Kris Wiggins 522; Kevin Lee 168; Mike Hinton 434; Douglas Foster 179; Robert Vaughn 142; Cheryl Foreman 354t; Gaylon Powell 240; Ryan Ross 273; Lindsey Wiggins 481; Gary Rogan 276; Owen Ross 339; Sarah Huckaby 448t; Reed Coates 472; H.P. O’Mary 35; Mike Hinton 477 (by request); Bruce Coates 34t; Donn Howard 535; Jerry Ryan 345t; Crystal Meadows 383; Beverly Coates 34t; Vivian Rogan 49t; Sonny Erwin 347; Scott Curran 47b; Stephanie Turney 45t; Billy Huckaby 421; Ben Brown 84; Kris Wiggins 192; Kevin Lee 53; Mike Hinton 490; Robert Vaughn 68b; Cheryl Foreman 85; Tim Studstill 225t.

An invitation was extended for all to attend the twenty-third annual session next year, January 27, 2007 at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. Dr. Studstill dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Dr. Timothy Studstill; Secretary—Jacquelyn Clifton.