Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Chicago/Hyde Park
Anniversary Singing

Quaker House, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, November 5, 2005

The seventh annual University of Chicago/Hyde Park Anniversary Singing was called together at 10:00 a.m. by Jim Helke who led 565, then extended a welcome to everyone. Songs would be led from the Missouri Harmony as well as The Sacred Harp. Chaplain Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer with 560.

Leaders: Clare Cardy 128; Cathryn Baker Bearov 475; Ginny Landgraf 538; Ted Mercer 77t; Martha Beverly 218; Peter Bradley 163b; Jeremy York 455; Bruce Holmes 146.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chair—Cathryn Baker Bearov; Co-Vice Chairs—Sam Farwell and Lisa Cohen; Secretary—Clare Cardy.

Leaders: Cathryn Baker Bearov 480; Suzanne Flandreau 128 (MH); Nick Pasqual 173; Penny Kujawinski 13 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 281 (?); Lisa Cohen 84; Herb Schroeder 151 (MH); Sam Farwell 273; Doug Stapleton 362; Ann Heider 268; Anne Miczulski 71; Karen Swenson 182; David Barford 474.


The class resumed singing with Melanie Hauff leading 148. Leaders: Judy Hauff 98 (MH); Rachel Edelstein 160 (MH); Will Fitzgerald 86; James Paige “Experience” (his composition); Bill Beverly 19 (MH); Marjorie Matthews 198; Jim Helke 89 (MH); Clare Cardy 142; Cathryn Baker Bearov 196; Ginny Landgraf 197; Ted Mercer 148 (MH); Jim Swanson 411 (for Bill Windom).

The memorial lesson was held. Nick Pasqual read the names of the sick and shut in, and led 33b in their honor. The following were remembered: Amanda Denson, Wilton Donaldson, Jeff Sheppard, and Shelbie Sheppard—Alabama; Felton Denney—Georgia; Ted Johnson and Marcia Johnson—Illinois; Ariel Weinberg—Indiana; Bob Meek—Kentucky; Pauline Creel Childers, Loretta Coghlan, Henry Schuman, Philip Tokken, and Bill Windom—Michigan; Shirley Figura—Missouri; Doris Littrell—Tennessee; Bob Anderson, Bob Scorgie, and Danica Smullen—Wisconsin.

In memory of the deceased, Suzanne Flandreau led 236, speaking especially of Al Frank. The following deceased were remembered: Ivalene Donaldson and John Hocutt—Alabama; Alfred Dole and William C. Spohn—California; Bennie Jones and Howard Jones—Iowa; Al Frank and Violet Stark—Illinois; Dean Slaton—Indiana; Florence Schroeder—Maryland; Jack Berger and Tom Gibney—New Jersey; Phyllis Flandreau—New York. Martha Beverly led 28b in memory of the deceased. The lunch blessing was offered by Sam Farwell.


Ted Mercer called the class to order leading 87. Leaders: Peter Bradley 228; Melanie Hauff 84 (MH); Lisa Cohen 528; Sue Kessell 454; Jeremy York 138 (MH); Rochelle Lodder 36b; Bruce Holmes 178; Suzanne Flandreau 472; Nick Pasqual 187; Penny Kujawinski 377; Lou Kujawinski 350; Lisa Cohen 504; Herb Schroeder 332; Sam Farwell 442, 31t; Doug Stapleton 99; Mark Miller 162; Anne Heider 192; Ann Miczulski 312b; Karen Swenson 51; David Barford 56b; Judy Hauff 80 (MH); Rachel Edelstein 266.


The class was brought back together by Jim Swanson leading 29t. Leaders: Will Fitzgerald 75; James Paige 67 (MH); Bill Beverly 162 (MH); Marjorie Matthews 485; Lisa Cohen 171; Rochelle Lodder 372; Lisa Grayson 448t; Sue Kessell 265 (?); Mark Miller 556; Melanie Hauff 542; Bill Beverly and Martha Beverly 203; Penny Kujawinski and Lou Kujawinski 352; Karen Swenson 290; Rachel Edelstein 112; James Paige 68 (MH); Marjorie Matthews 299; Ann Miczulski 569b; Ryan Wheeler 30b.

  • A Resolution to thank Quaker House for the use of their facilities was given.
  • The Finance Committee reported that money received was enough to cover expenses.
  • The Arranger, Ginny Landgraf, reported singers in attendance were from fifteen states.
  • The Secretary, Clare Cardy, reported seventy-one songs were led.

After future singings were announced, Chair Cathryn Baker Bearov led 347 as the class took the parting hand. Sam Farwell led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chair—Jim Helke; Vice Chair—Cathryn Baker Bearov; Secretary—Clare Cardy.