Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers and W.A. Parker Memorial

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Sunday, October 23, 2005

The annual Sacred Harp singing held in memory of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers and W.A. Parker was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Marlin Beasley leading 31b. The morning prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin. Marlin Beasley welcomed everyone and led 40.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nora Parker; Arranging Committee—Sarah Smith.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin and Ruby Mauldin 317, 145t; Sarah Smith 129, 290; John Hyde 43, 124; Elizabeth Keeton 535, 67; Travis Keeton 421, 475; Amanda Denson and Ruby Mauldin 63, 146; Juanita Beasley 39b, 61.


The class resumed singing with Marlin Beasley leading 344. Leaders: Bea Carnathan 80b, 336; Max Berueffy 225t, 439; Becky Briggs 460, 33b; Samantha Spiller 282; Teddy Creel 335, 143 (for his father, Charles Creel); Ozella Blackmon 212, 192 (for Elsie Myers Beasley, who was unable to attend); Henry Guthery 205, 568; Judy Caudle 291, 283; Josie Hyde 454, 470.


The afternoon session was brought together by Marlin Beasley leading 318. Leaders: Sharon Spiller and Josie Hyde 108t, 565; Gary Smith 31t, 50b.

A memorial lesson was held with Marlice Ray (granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers) leading 371 and 517 (WB) in memory of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers. Nora Parker and Sue Aaron led 276 and 36b in memory of W.A. Parker, Ruth Aaron, and Yaunil Cruce.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 349, 300; Elsie Moon 348t, 207 (for Elsie Beasley); Amber Davis 68b, 402; Larry Ballinger 489, 215; Jennifer Allred 145b, 170; Nellie Alexander 176t, 176b; Velton Chaffin 487; Margaret Keeton 517; Latrive Bailey 345t, 345b; Harrison Creel 512; Lisa Geist 377, 327; Elene Stovall 436, 196; Richard Mauldin 144 (in memory of John Hocutt), 84 (for his father, Dick Mauldin); Charles Kitchens 332; Velton Chafin 333.

Marlin Beasley and Richard Mauldin led 323b as the closing song. Harrison Creel dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nora Parker.