Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial

New Prospect Church, Cullman County, Alabama

Sunday, July 17, 2005

The one hundred thirty-third session of the Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial was held at New Prospect Church in Cullman County, Alabama on the third Sunday in July. Velton Chafin led 31b to bring the class to order. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

Richard Mauldin nominated Velton Chafin as Honorary Chairman of the singing for as long as he may live. The nomination was seconded by Danny Creel. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 30t, 35; Oleta Stewart 480; Taylor Stewart 119; Corene White 171; Eldagene Roberson 89; S.T. Reed 206; Gordon Wilkinson 475; Aubrey Barfield 269; Frank Hataway 34t; Tommie Spurlock 430; Mike Jones 76b; Ernestine Pipkin 110; John Hyde 297; Donald Roberson 434; Jennifer Allred 142; James Wagner 40; Marie Guthrie 220; Amanda Denson and Aaron Wootten 376.


The class resumed singing with Brenda Merritt leading 213t. Leaders: Travis Keeton 499b; Chris Ballinger 270; Susan Allred 77t; Tim Reynolds 441; Caleb Allred 82t; Willodean Barton 101t; Clayton Ezell 66; Charlotte McCarn 100; Lucy Heidorn 155; Butch White 460; Seth Allred 186; Emily Creel 276; Bud Oliver 145t; Aaron Wootten 448t; Will Allred 274t.


Harrison Creel brought the class to order by leading 317. Leaders: Don Stewart 569b; Rachel Allred 546; Beth O’Dell 200; Shane Wootten 163b; Richard Mauldin 68b; John Etheridge 73t; Josie Hyde 507; Terry Wootten 399t; Earl Ballinger 406; Glenn Keeton 178; Dorothea McCowan 442; Larry Ballinger 349; Danny Creel 182; Wilton Donaldson 490; Geraldine Watkins 299.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Velton Chafin leading 318. Leaders: Donna Wootten 56t; Lisa Geist 377; Ashley Campbell 143; John Merritt 491; Wanda Capps 216; Elsie Moon 436; Velton Chafin 425, 63; Will Allred and John Merritt 358; John Merritt “Nothing But The Blood of Jesus”, Linda Sides 454; Josie Hyde 198; Cindy Tanner 532; Ottis Sides 530; Brenda Merritt 341, 457; Ashley Keeton 196; Bee Cothran 64; Terry Wootten 422; Billy Williams 294; Susan Allred and Kayla Allred 312b; Shane Wootten 343; Harrison Creel and Emily Creel 342; Harrison Creel 111b; Lisa Geist 273; Aaron Wootten 282.

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin led 521 as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.