Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern California Regional Singing

Los Angeles, California

Saturday, May 14, 2005

The thirteenth annual Southern California Regional Sacred Harp Singing met on Saturday before the third Sunday in May at Angels Gate Cultural Center, San Pedro, California.

The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Pat Keating leading 312b. Steve Lazicki, pastor of Immanuel Lutheran Church of Pasadena, California, led the opening prayer. Duncan MacLeod led 30t.

A business meeting was called and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Duncan MacLeod; Vice Chair—Pat Keating; Secretary—Larry Arnstein; Treasurer—David Olson; Arranging Committee—Rick Russell; Memorial Committee—Marilyn Murata and Mary Rose O’Leary; Resolutions Committee—Laura Boyd Russell.

Leaders: Duncan MacLeod 112; Pat Keating 315; Larry Arnstein 163b; John Rand 385t; David Olson 66; Mary Rose O’Leary 436; Steve Lazicki 29t; Marilyn Murata 492; Bruce Hayes 35; Ron Huss 477; Jerry Schreiber 446; Polly Henninger 186; Laura Boyd Russell 411; Betty Herman 216; John Marr 335; Rick Russell 401.


Midge Harder called the class back to order leading 128. Leaders: Karen Huss 454; Pat Keating 320; Carroll Lunsford 319; Tom Ostwald 209; Midge Harder 535; Carla Smith 304; Norman Gholson 28b; Tison Lacy 569b; Amy Ludwig 85; Stephen O’Leary 192; Larry Arnstein 566.

Marilyn Murata conducted the memorial lesson and led 448b for the following deceased: Anne Friend, Elaine Weissman, Larry Mylove, Ron Stockfleth, May Borisoff, and Donna Delaney—California; Billie Warschauer—Florida; Laura Downin—New Jersey; Ann Weisenfeld—Texas.

Mary Rose O’Leary led 340 for the sick and shut-ins: Dean Slaton—Illinois; Fumin Murata, Kathleen Meske, and Susan Osana—California. The memorial was closed. Duncan MacLeod led 475.


John Marr called the class back to order leading 373. Leaders: Midge Harder 500; Mike Laube 125; Susan Turpin 328; John Rand 123 (t? b?); Jerry Schreiber 362; Ron Huss 549; John Marr 400; Marilyn Murata 277; Mary Rose O’ Leary 87; Betty Herman 442; Tom Ostwald 268; Carla Smith 359; Bruce Hayes 174; Laura Boyd Russell 228.


Susan Turpin called the class back to order leading 72b. Leaders: Polly Henninger 504; Carroll Lunsford 162; Ellen Collins 159; Rick Russell 297; Karen Huss 236; Larry Arnstein 474; Mike Lewis, Linda Lewis, Dakota Lewis, and Mikaela Lewis 410t; Pat Keating 272; Steve Lazicki 117; Stephen O’Leary 95; Tison Lacy 491; Norman Gholson 479; Susan Turpin 203; Mike Laube 467; Amy Ludwig 155; Jon Mortensen 178; David Olson 441; Duncan MacLeod 441.

A business meeting was called to hear reports. Treasurer David Olsen reported that expenses had been met.

Secretary Larry Arnstein reported that sixty-seven songs had been sung.

Laura Boyd Russell gave the Resolutions, acknowledging the passing of the tradition on with every singing.

Announcements were made. Steve Lazicki offered the closing prayer. Duncan MacLeod led 276 as the closing song, and the meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Chairman—Duncan MacLeod; Vice Chair—Pat Keating; Secretary—Larry Arnstein.