Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 9, 2005

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church, just off U.S. Highway 78 at the Georgia/Alabama state line, in Cleburne County, Alabama was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. B.M. Smith brought the class to order leading 32t. Rev. Clarence Cates offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 101t; Rodney Ivey 203; Mary L. Smith and Bud Oliver 135; Helen Bryson 411; Stanley Edwards 122; Mildred Patterson 294; Oscar McGuire 485; Audress Gurley 108t; Mel Kersey 523; Eugene Forbes 340; Stan Jensen 217; Ed Thacker 187; Joyce Lambert 111t; Bobby Jackson 480; Jenny Jensen 448t; Robert Chambless 452; Eunice Webb 512.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary L. Smith; Arranging Committee—Bud Oliver; Memorial Committee—Helen Bryson.


Bud Oliver led 39b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Louis Hughes 345b; Max Berueffy 454; Clarence Cates 274t; Carol Selleck 566; Scott DePoy 155; Janet Morgan 77t; Lou Cotney 222; Elder Gerald Hand 89; Floy Wilder 214; Rachel Miller Jacobs 30b; Keith Willard 106; James Gingerich and Jonathan Gingerich 171; Tony Hammock 112.


The class was brought to order by Rodney Ivey leading 81t. Leaders: Henry Johnson 539; Reba Windom 197; Thomas Willard 36b; Laura Densmore 430; Lonnie Rogers 348b; Drew Smith 328; Elene Stovall and Linda Thomas 299; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 47t.

Helen Bryson conducted the memorial lesson. Lela Crowder led 475 for the deceased. Henry Johnson led 68b for the sick and shut-ins. Lonnie Rogers offered prayer to conclude the memorial.


Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard brought the class to order leading 439 and 179. Leaders: Terry Wootten 196; Gregg Creech 47b; Jenny Willard 318; Judy Chambless 565; Jeannette DePoy 392; Johanna Fabke 32b; Donna Sewell 63; Karen Seveanson 66; Bentley McGuire 335; Faye Hollis and Jason Hollis 354t; LaRue Allen 220; Richard DeLong 396; Charlene Wallace 455; John Plunkett 486; Ellie Soler 358; Sandra Wilkinson 186; Evelyn Harris 378t; Andy Morse 484; Lela Crowder and Bud Oliver 42; B.J. Harris 303; Cecil Roberts 333; Pam Nunn 269; Rene Greene 276.

After announcements were made, Rodney Ivey led 146 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary L. Smith.