Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

B.I. Wood and Alvis Brothers Memorial Singing

Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church, Attalla, Alabama

Saturday, November 6, 2004

The annual Sacred Harp Memorial Singing for B.I. Wood and Alvis Brothers was held at Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church in Attalla, Alabama on Saturday before the first Sunday in November. Ron Crocker called the class to order leading 108t. Othie Chamblee offered the morning prayer.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ron Crocker; Secretary—Gloria Hutchens; Arranging Committee—Billie Dean Hornsby.

Leaders: Elder J.L. Hopper 33t, 91, 503, 180; Glenda Hopper 63, 28b, 72b; Andrew Crocker 77t, 104; Danielle Crocker 45t, 49t; Carmon Brothers 49b, 48t, 75, 274t, 172; Judy Caudle 74t, 77b.


Ron Crocker brought the class back to order leading 74b. Leaders: Robert Walker 490, 480, 560; Herby Bailey 30t, 489; Ernest Phillips 39b, 144; Billie Dean Hornsby, Doris Brown, and Joycie Wooten 68b, 323b, 119; Gloria Hutchens 348b, 566.


The afternoon session was called to order by Ron Crocker leading 31t.

A memorial lesson was held with Ernest Phillips leading 86 and 134 (from the church hymnal) for Ovada Phillips Carr. Carmon Brothers led 358 and 445 in memory of B.I. and Oma Wood and Alvis Brothers.

Carmon Brothers and his wife, Ruby, led 112 in celebration of their 63rd anniversary.

Leaders: Elder J.L. Hopper 158; Glenda Hopper 32t; Andrew Crocker 159; Carmon Brothers 145b; Judy Caudle 121; Robert Walker 143; Herby Bailey 34b; Ernest Phillips 288; Billie Dean Hornsby and Gloria Hutchens 290, 170; Andrew Crocker 171.

Ron Crocker led 146 as the closing song. Elder Talmadge Simmons offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ron Crocker; Secretary—Gloria Hutchens.