Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Old Fuller Cemetery Church, Ider, Alabama

Saturday, August 28, 2004

The Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Convention met on Saturday before the fifth Sunday in August at Old Fuller Cemetery Church in Ider, Alabama. The singing was called to order by Chairman Shane Wootten at 9:30 a.m. leading 32t, and then extended a warm welcome and appreciation to all. Richard Ivey offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 82t; Vice Chairman Jackson Harcrow 88t; Sarah Jenkins 37b; Laura Clawson 29t; Jennifer Allred 336; Margaret Thacker 480; Norma Green 479; Don Bowen 99; John Plunkett 285t; Alex Makris 222; Henry Johnson 69t; Rodney Ivey 47t; Betty Wright 410t; Devan Jackson 159; Ed Thacker 425; Bud Oliver 42; LaRue Allen 142; Daphene Causey 170; Louis Hughes 335.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Vice Chairman—Blake Sisemore; Secretary—Jennifer Allred; Locating Committee—Stuart Ivey and Riley Lee; Finance Committee—Travis Peek; Arranging Committee—Laura Clawson.


Vice Chairman Blake Sisemore and Chairman Jackson Harcrow called the class back to order leading 101t. Leaders: Clarke Lee 139; Mike Thompson 112; Elise Eskew 551; Stephen Eastland 168; Ashley Brown 448t; Shane O’Neil 452; Will Allred 45t; Travis Peek and Jackson Harcrow 282; Katie Mahoney 53; Debra Jones and Kristin Doring 454; Susan Allred 394; Jeff Adcock and Reba Windom 35.


Vice Chairman Blake Sisemore called the class back together leading 49t. Leaders: Frances Carnell 543; James Conner 388; Caleb Allred 196; Micah Roberts and Rodney Ivey 354b; April Dell 28b; Jenna Strizak 105; Victoria Eastland 344; Riley Lee 165; Rachel Allred 216; Blake Sisemore 358; Liz Kiser 277; April Charron 350; Judy Caudle 163t; Idy Kiser 122; Kathy James 542.


Chairman Jackson Harcrow and Vice Chairman Blake Sisemore called the class back together for the afternoon session with 76b. Leaders: Aaron Wootten 270; Mary Elizabeth Lee 192; Stuart Ivey 171; Lela Crowder 430; Lauren Hall 455; Scott Ivey 426t; Chris Carnell 68t; Dana Borrelli 339; Matthew Wojcik 384; Richard Ivey 436; Phillip Langley 411; Jessica Altman 203; Kelsey Wessels 300; Seth Allred 36b; Jared Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Hayden Wootten 496; Eric Charron 566; Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd 299; Jerry Enright 131t; Shelbie Sheppard 106; Cheryl Foreman 328; Karen Freund 215; Susan Harcrow 218; Jesse Roberts 498; Lynn deBenedette 428; Bridgett Hill 383; Jeff Sheppard and Reba Windom 473; Dennis George 532; the youth who attended “Camp Fasola-2004” 155 (by request).

A business session was held. The Finance Committee reported that $272.83 was received.

The Locating Committee announced that the Young People’s Convention will be held at Shady Grove Baptist Church in Dutton, Jackson County, Alabama on Saturday, July 30, 2005. The business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Chairman Jackson Harcrow thanked Bud and Sammie Oliver for the wonderful lemonade they provided for the singing.

Chairman Jackson Harcrow, Vice Chairman Blake Sisemore, and Secretary Jennifer Allred led 62 as the closing song while those who wished took the parting hand. Shane Wootten dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Vice Chairman—Blake Sisemore; Secretary—Jennifer Allred.