Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lincoln’s Birthday Singing

University of Chicago, Ida Noyes Hall

February 4, 1996

The fourth annual Lincoln’s Birthday Singing at the University of Chicago’s Ida Noyes Hall was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Duran Perkins leading song on page 155. Leaders: Wendy Wahn 220; Ted Johnson 348b; Patrina Patti 217; John Graven 66; Sam Farwell 146; David Barford 181; David Stockwell 178; Mickey Piette 27; Kathleen Kuiper 512; Marcia Johnson 434; Lisa Grayson 436; Wendy Lee 63; Debra Barford 163b; Joy Urban 149; Beverly Enright 496; Jeremy Straughn 504; Wendy Wahn 370; Duran Perkins 410t; Marcia Johnson 39t. The class organized by electing the following Officers: Chairman—Duran Perkins; Vice Chairman—Sam Sutton; Secretary—Debra Barford.


Duran Perkins called the class together leading song on page 84. Leaders: Dan Morse 268; Melanie Hauff 215; Ted Mercer 270; Judy Hauff 565; Dean Slaton 532; Samuel Sommers 189; Connie Karduck 347; Suzanne Flandreau 274t; Bill Hamblin 106; Kelly Brest Van Kempen 335; Tom Finney 31t; Jerry Enright 123b; Brian Pollock 200; Kathy Krug 192; D. J. Hatfield 455; Flawn Williams 198; Sue Kessell 236.


Ted Johnson brought the class together leading song on page 312b. Leaders: Wendy Lee 82t; Debra Barford 218; Lisa Grayson “Norman”, her own composition; Marcia Johnson 260; Kathy Krug 293; Jim Helke 564; Jeremy York 47t; Terry Hogg 112; John Cravens 49b; Ted Mercer 352; Sam (last name unknown) 56b; Connie Karduck 103; Samuel Sommers 46. Duran Perkins led song on page 62 as the closing song, and singers were dismissed after taking the “parting hand”. Scores of listeners and new singers dropped in throughout the day. This singing is co-sponsored by the University of Chicago Folklore Society and the date, set by the University, can vary in early February each year.

Chairman—Duran Perkins; Vice Chairman—Sam Sutton; Secretary—Debra Barford.