Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Singing

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 6, 2004

The annual Decoration Day Sacred Harp Singing held at Liberty Church was called to order with Chairman David Ivey leading 82t and 74b (in memory of Eulas Ivey). Phil Summerlin offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Shane Woottten 30b; Vice Chairman Rodney Ivey 318; Secretary Norma Green 494; Loyd Ivey 460; Hobert Ivey 426t; Donna Wootten 88t; Robert Walker 490; Martha Underwood and Loyd Ivey 424; Blake Sisemore 532; Loretta Smith 37b; Travis Peek 186; Rex Wilks 480; Floyd Peters 68b; Bobby Watkins 436; Kathy James 542; Chris Ballinger 178; Wilton Donaldson and Ivalene Donaldson 335; Milton Oliver 403; Linda Thomas 52t; Chris Rice 112; Ed Thacker 448t; Gaston White 84; Mike Dunn 551 (in memory of his grandmother, Eula Stallings, and his father, Robert Dunn).

The memorial lesson was held in the cemetery with the class singing 341, 340, 505 (CB), 540 (CB), and 45t.


Vice Chairman Rodney Ivey called the class together leading 81t. Leaders: Wayne Wootten 39b; Michael Thompson 270; Marilyn Burchett 29t; Alan Pritchett 146; Alexandra Makris 119 (by request); Zach Rogan 159; Scott Ivey 99; Reed Coates 475; J.T. Shavers 145b; Jessica Ivey, Cheyenne Ivey, and Rodney Ivey 76b; Rachel Ivey, Rachel Shavers, and Tiffany Travis 59; Catherine Rogan 218; J.C. Rutledge 568; Aaron Wootten 282; Rick Johnson 392; Kelly House and Sally House 503 (in memory of Karen House); Betty Wright 569b; Sandie Scott 47b; Charles Stiefel 445; Daphene Causey 291; Gayzelle Parker 276.


The afternoon session was called together with Shane Wootten leading 345b. Leaders: Laura Clawson 142; Melvin Stiefel 348b; Stuart Ivey 183; Dennis George 454; Richard Ivey 440; Jarrod George 358; Betty Shepherd and Deborah Morton 216; Larry Ballinger 220; Reba Windom 224; Lisa Geist 269; Bruce Coates 36b; Vivian Rogan 290; Beverly Coates 106; Beth O’Dell 442; Gary Rogan 300; Mattie Townsel, Patsy Gentle, Rick Townsel, Emily Venable, Jennifer Humphrey, and Beverly Venable 137; the Ivey first cousins 384, 486 (WB); Phil Summerlin and Linda Collins 196; Teresa Bethune, Marian Biddle, Martha Underwood, Lindsay Bethune, Ivey Biddle, Lillie Underwood, Loyd Ivey, and Jessica Ivey 501 (CB); Karen Travis 73t; Shane Wootten 492 (WB) (by request).


The class resumed singing with Jackie Tanner leading 101t. Leaders: Linton Ballinger and Gravis Ballinger 110 (remembering all the servicemen and servicewomen and former President Ronald Reagan, who passed away yesterday); Hunter Hale 163b; Judy Caudle 540; Linda Sides 225t; David Light 192; Henry Johnson 111b; Bill Dunn 155; Karen Ivey 208; Tony Ivey 505; Cindy Tanner 434; Bridgett Hill 383; Eloise Wootten 456; Mark Brown “Sweet Beulah Land” (by request); Syble Adams 203; Kelly House 455.

Following announcements, David Ivey led 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed in prayer by Pastor Tony Ivey.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.