Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, near Heflin, Alabama

Sunday, May 16, 2004

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in May. B.M. Smith called the class to order leading 59. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. B.M. Smith led 101t; Jeff Sheppard 105, 124; Pearl Guier 32t and 63.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Pearl Guier.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 123t; Stanley Edwards 496, 497; Lou Cotney 172, 300; George Garner 503; Margie Smith 108t, 335; Howard McGuire 454, 192; Reba Norton 373, 460; Cecil Roberts 285b, 284; Eunice Webb 145t, 271 (t? b?); Felton Denney 73t, 31t.


Jeff Sheppard brought the class back to order leading 75. Leaders: Josephine Denney 28b, 39b; Winfred Kerr 282, 89; Glenda Collins 45t, 290; Jimmie Denney 155, 61; Donna Bell 87, 119.


The class resumed singing with B.M. Smith leading 222.

Charles Norton gave a report on the cemetery. Joe Jones asked for information about Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church for a book that he is compiling. Billy Joe Harris led 435 and 303.

Pearl Guier conducted the memorial lesson. Eunice Webb led 138b for the sick and shut-ins: Nancy Allen, Alice Edwards, Alonzo Edwards, Evelyn Harris, Jessie Harlan, Fred Cheatwood, and Louise Allen.

Jeff Sheppard led 112 for the deceased: Ruth Brown, Kenneth Simmons, Gladys Simmons, Harvey Austin, Mozelle Sheppard, Arvie Norton, Irene Willoughby, Reba Warren Norton, Jim Tom Fields, Estelle Flowers, Gene Austin, Jerry Warren, Frankie Owen, and Eric Reaves. Lois Owen led 339 for Frankie Owen. The memorial was closed with prayer.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 176b. Leaders: Lewis Norton 34t, 30b; Tony Hammock 135, 314; Sylvia Holland 348b, 340; Louise Holland 35, 37b; Corene Laminack 40, 46; Michael Turner and Erica Turner 358; Karen Reaves and Cathy Ewing 410t, 457; Ruth Daniels 127, 378t; Pam Nunn 361, 186; Sherrell Cleino 337, 100; Shelbie Sheppard 277, 142 (in memory of Ruth Brown); Lois Owen and Gail Barker 335; Shelbie Sheppard 147t (by request).

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith and Jeff Sheppard led 225t as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Hester Edwards.