Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern Wisconsin Singing

Plum Grove Church at Folklore Village Farm, Dodgeville, Wisconsin

Saturday, November 8, 2003

The seventeenth annual Southern Wisconsin Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Johanna Fabke leading 52t. Becky Browne offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Julie Vea 421; Jan Ketelle 36b; Dick Dunagan 66; Val Dunagan 350; Marjorie Matthews 218; Cathryn Baker 216; Dave Ressler 189; Peggy Brayfield 28t; Martha Beverly 171; Denise Kania 474; Berkley Moore 67; Janet Fraembs 532; Gary Gronau 163t; Kit Pfau 58; Megan Jenning 383; Steven Levine 441; Paul Figura 436.

A business meeting was held. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairmen—Jim Crawford and Carol Crawford; Chaplain—Carol Enseki; Arranging Committee—James Page; Memorial Committee—Carol Crawford and Carol Enseki; Treasurer—Dick Dunagan; Secretary—Val Dunagan.


Carol Crawford and Jim Crawford called the class to order leading 49t. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 411; Karen Isbell 224; Eleanor Haase 384; Marcia Johnson 434; Paul Wyatt 53; Lisa Grayson 419; Brad Hunnicutt 35; Ted Johnson “The Bible’s Rose”; Collette Miller 183; Kathy Kaiser 203; Jeanette Nelson 504; Francis Gurtz 472; Karen Freund 300; James Page, Martha Klasen, and Johanna Gorman Baer 272; Christine Stevens 352; Carl Crawford 280; Terry Hogg 212; Edward Thomas and Marcia Johnson 76b; Jerry Enright 168. Carol Enseki offered prayer for the noon meal.


Matt Wells called the class to order leading 38t. Leaders: Jim Crawford 186; Michael Moore 202; Judy Hauff 102; Becky Browne 142; Ted Mercer 103; Jeanette Lowry 475; Martha Henderson 456; Jim Helke 37b; Matt Wells 318.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Carol Enseki and Carol Crawford who led 163 (t? b?) for the deceased and 566 for the sick and shut-ins. The deceased remembered were: Vern Handrick—Wisconsin; Ruth Brown, Lamar Smith, and Lavaughn Ballinger—Alabama; Everette Denney—Georgia; Nancy Hargrave and David Erceg—Minnesota; Bruce Ketelle—Tennessee; Cecelia Hauff—South Dakota; Anthony Jefferson, Robert Sanders, and Stephanie Rubin—Illinois; Dinah Breunig -Vermont; Matt Ettinger and Mary Hackney—Florida; Virginia Bloom and Ray Bloom—Missouri; Art Heffley—Indiana; troops and citizens in Iraq; fire victims.

The sick and shut-ins remembered were: Mary Agee, Bob Scorgie, and Bob Anderson—Wisconsin; Nick Pender—Georgia; Alan Bates—England; Suzanne Checcia, Violet Stark, and Ted Leeb—Illinois; Kelly Beard and Dick Haase—Texas; Tricia Ryan and Sara Curry—California; Pat Cirkus—Florida; Eleanor Phillips—Massachusetts; children in need. Carol Enseki closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Bill Beverly 86; Henry Schuman 217; Connie Karduck 222.


Brad Hunnicutt brought the class to order leading 47t. Leaders: Mike Draney 178; Megan Jenning 269; Paul Wyatt 569b; Collette Miller 368; Jeanette Lowery 260; Christine Stevens 542; Brad Hunnicutt 369; Francis Gurtz 566; Becky Browne 270; Judy Hauff 448t; Terry Hogg 535; Jeanette Nelson 479; Karen Freund and Jerry Enright 442; Steven Levine 164; Janet Fraembs 335.


Jim Helke called the class back to order leading 334. Leaders: Paul Figura 481; Melanie Hauff 271t; Peggy Brayfield 313b; Matt Wells 29t; Johanna Fabke 122; Martha Beverly 319; Karen Isbell and Gary Gronau 496; Cathryn Baker 480; Eleanor Haase 99; Marcia Johnson and Ted Johnson 485; Berkley Moore 290.

Following announcements and thanks, Carol Crawford and Jim Crawford led 62 as the closing song, and Carol Enseki dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairmen—Jim Crawford and Carol Crawford; Secretary—Val Dunagan.