Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hillabee Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Daviston, Alabama

July 20, 2003

The Hillabee Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the third Sunday in July at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church in Daviston, Alabama. Eugene Forbes called the class to order leading 59.

The class organized for the day with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Jenny Acton.

Chairman Eugene Forbes led 32t. Charlotte Bishop led the Introductory Lesson with 453 and 143 as the selections.

Leaders: Mary Jean Payne 401, 63; Jenny Acton 358, 340; Edna Ruth Phillips 490, 334; Bobby Jackson 569b, 499; Leonard Price 290, 72b; Stanley Edwards 101t, 127; Linda Fagan 111t, 335, 36b.


The class was brought to order. Leaders: Audress Gurley 517 (WB), 108t; Nell Estes 145b, 313t; Waymond Price 57, 87; Modie McNeal 68 (t? b?); Charlotte Bishop and Jenny Acton 25 (JB); Charlotte Bishop 164; Eugene Forbes 39b.

The memorial lesson was held with Edna Ruth Phillips and Audress Gurley leading 489 for Elder C.V. Estes; Linda Fagan 99 for Elma Avery; Nell Estes and Mary Jean Payne 49 (t? b?) for Maxine Marlett; and Jacob Acton and Charlotte Bishop “Jesus Loves Me” for Elizabeth Rose Acton. The memorial lesson was concluded.


Chairman Eugene Forbes brought the afternoon session to order leading 27.

A business session was held.

The Hillabee Convention will be held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church in 2004, and Edna Ruth Phillips was elected to lead the Introductory Lesson. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Myra Goss 337, 145t; Stanley Edwards 282; Bobby Jackson 445; Edna Ruth Phillips 405; Eugene Forbes 274t; Jenny Acton and Jacob Acton 112; Myra Goss 340.

Announcements were made. Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song, and Modie McNeal dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Jenny Acton.