Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine Memorial

St. Michael Church, north of Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama

April 27, 2003

The annual Alewine Memorial was held at St. Michael Church, north of Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday in April. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by George Garner leading 59. Hugh McGraw offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: George Garner 47 (t? b?); Cecil Roberts 284, 235; Stanley Edwards 81t, 146; Eunice Webb 30b, 32t; Josephine Denney 143, 101t; Winfred Kerr 45t, 89; Felton Denney 31t, 28b; Charlene Wallace and Corene Laminack 49t, 49b, 61.


Hugh McGraw called the class together leading 448b.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—George Garner; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace; Memorial Committee—Corene Laminack.

It was voted to have the singing start at 9:30 a.m. next year.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 87; Inez Chandler 490, 569 (t? b?); Ken McElroy 274 (t? b?), 358.

Corene Laminack conducted the memorial lesson. Ken McElroy led 294 and 323 (t? b?) in memory of his grandfather, Harold McElroy, and for others in the community that have passed on in previous years. Those remembered were: Obie Laminack, Mr. and Mrs. Elbert Kilgore, Gladys Alewine Coffey, Mr. and Mrs. Emanuel Alewine, Mr. and Mrs. Jim Alewine, Floyd Kilgore, Leo Kilgore, Jack Owens, Emory Morgan, Doc Kilgore, and Bertha Kilgore. Hugh McGraw led 267 and 47b in memory of: Vivian Rogers, Everette Denney, Berta Woods, and Revy Williamson.

Stanley Edwards led 127 for the sick and shut-ins. Cecil Roberts offered prayer to close the memorial, and asked the blessing on the food.


Cecil Roberts brought the afternoon session to order leading 489. Leaders: Felton Denney 73b (for Alice Edwards), 73t; Winfred Kerr 282, 339; Eunice Webb 406, 460; Josephine Denney 452; Charlene Wallace 85, 159; Corene Laminack 119, 75; Hugh McGraw 145b.

After announcements were made, Felton Denney dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—George Garner; Secretary—Hester Edwards.