Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, Alabama

April 13, 2003

The sixtieth annual singing at Antioch Baptist Church was held on the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten and Marty Wootten leading 82t and 101t. Phillip Wootten offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten and Marty Wootten 176t, 448t; Aaron Wootten 48t; Mark Brown 108t; Billy Thompson 285t; Jamie Dalton 47b; Julie Lee 277; Floyd Peters 68b; Kathy James 480; Jerry Wootten, Zach Wootten, and Christine Wootten 235; Linda Thomas 122; Deborah Kane 37b; Louis Hughes, Jr. 208; S.T. Reed 428; Myra Dalton 348b; Mel Kersey and Johnny Lee 566, 503; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 569b, 35; Betty Wright 565; Eric Morgan 67; Heath Townson 141; Kathy Lee 61; Charles Meidinger and Stacy Meidinger 352; Boyd Scott 358.


Shane Wootten and Marty Wootten called the class back to order leading 345b. Leaders: Coy Ivey and Michelle Cull 384; Jenny Mann 515; Phillip Wootten, Jennifer Cook, and Susan Davis 196, 559 (CB); Linda Sides 454; Charlene Wallace 192; Lonnie Rogers and Denney Rogers 97 (in memory of Vivian Rogers); Levon Wootten 452.

A memorial lesson was held. Phil Summerlin led 66 for the deceased. Jeff Sheppard led 75 for the sick and shut-ins. Marty Wootten and Shane Wootten led 484 (CB) in honor of those serving in the military. Jerry Wootten closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Kennedy Wootten, Raven Townson, and Dani Townson “Oh How I Love Jesus”; Jamey Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jared Wootten 145b; Thomas J. Willard 422; Anna Meidinger and Steven Meidinger 551; Mary Elizabeth Lee 142; Riley Lee 40; Jewel Wootten, Larry Wootten, Gene Wootten, Beulah Ann York, Virginia Dale Glass, and Terry Hullett 500 (CB), 512 (WB) (in memory of Pauline Wootten Lewis and Freeman Wootten).


The afternoon session began with Shane Wootten and Marty Wootten leading 76b and 182. Leaders: David Lee and Clarke Lee “The Mercy Seat” (LD); Louis Hughes, Sr. 496; Henry Johnson 111b; Randall Smith 36b; Hugh McGraw 347; Marlon Wootten, Wayne Wootten, and Shane Wootten 376; Terry Wootten 39t; Brenda Carroll and Chris Carroll 300; Pam Wilkerson and Rhonda Arnold 505 (CB); Jim Carnes 440; Jenny Willard 434; Dewayne Wootten 572 (CB); Eschol Hughes 138b; Pat Moore, Marlon Wootten, and Terry Wootten 505 (CB) (2nd verse); Keith Willard 112; Stan Jensen and Jenny Jensen 163t; Aaron Little 460; Chuck Isbell 111t; Steve Jardine 148; the Olivia Wootten Allen family (Olivia Allen, Daniel Mosteller, Janette Mosteller, Melissa Mosteller, Tyler Mosteller, Robin Smith, Pat Moore, Laura Moore, John Moore, and Jesse Moore) 517 (WB); Bud Oliver and Loyd Ivey 426t; Sheila Wootten, Britt Mann, Jenny Mann 29t; Kristy Wootten 147t; Eloise Wootten 236 (by request); David Lee 128 (for Lamar Smith); Wayne Hartman 59; Nick Dobbs and Phil Summerlin 375; Clarke Lee 149; Jenny Wootten Mann “Sweet Beulah Land”; Syble Adams and Mark Brown “Song of Praise”.

Announcements were made. Next year’s Chairmen will be Dewayne Wootten and Aaron Wootten.

Shane Wootten, Marty Wootten, and Church Pastor Billy Ray Killian led 146 as the closing song. Brother Billy Ray Killian offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Marty Wootten and Shane Wootten; Secretaries—Shelbie Sheppard and Linda Thomas.