Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cross Roads Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia

July 7, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Cross Roads Baptist Church was held on the first Sunday in July. Louis Hughes called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. with songs on pages 32t and 37b. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. Miranel Swafford led song on page 441; Belinda Stansberry 119; Mary Florence Smith 99, 53; and Margie Smith 313t.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Louis Hughes; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Belinda Stansberry; Memorial Committee—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith.

Leaders: Louis Hughes 138b; Keith Willard 100; David Yeager 497; Martha Beverly 538; Vivian Rogan 56t; Tom Owen 477; Earlis McGraw 389; Allison Dodson 335; Haley Morris 119; Gary Rogan 155; Hugh McGraw 567; Shelbie Sheppard 139; Liz Owens 273; Jeb Owen 163b; Terry Wootten 157; Cheryl Foreman 203; Joyce Clackum 63; Josh Rogan 442; Thomas Willard 145b.


Louis Hughes brought the class back to order leading song on page 68b. Leaders: Charlene Wallace 276; Michele Rogan 267; Amanda Owen 503; Zach Rogan 282; Catherine Rogan 300.

Mary Florence Smith conducted the memorial lesson. The following deceased were remembered: Rube Allred, Oakie Austin, Ike Stanford, John Bailey, Freeman Wootten, Polly Moore, and Wilford Denney. James Newman led song on page 45t in memory of Rube Allred; Louis Hughes led song on page 303 in memory of Polly Moore; and Mary Florence Smith led song on page 499 for the rest of the deceased remembered.

Teenie Moody led song on page 81t for the following sick and shut-ins: I.V. McWhorter, Mozelle Sheppard, Alice Edwards, Richard DeLong, Vivian Rogers, Irvin Roberts, Evelyn Newman, Myrtle Wootten, and Zelma Harcrow. Mary Florence Smith closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Louis Hughes, Jr. 208; Jenny Willard 318; Aaron Wootten 270; Lee Willamon 215; Bill Beverly 523; Carlene Griffin 222.


Louis Hughes, Jr. opened the afternoon session leading song on page 569b. Leaders: Tommy McGraw 566; Evelyn Harris 89; John Plunkett 41; Mildred Patterson 87; Arron Little 378t; Nancy Yeager 510; Felton Denney 385b; Judith Green 384; Lonnie Rogers 348b; Herstine Bussie 339; Jimmie Denney 101t; Inez Chandler, Theo Waddle, and Ceford Wood 490; Jeff Sheppard 436 (for Flora Skinner); Eunice Webb 283; Eschol Hughes 340; Josephine Denney 75; B.J. Harris 225t; Cynthia Fielder 59; B.M. Smith 475; Elaine Newman, Louis Hughes, and Lynn 146; Oscar McGuire 573; John Merritt 232; Cheryl Foreman 430; Tom Owen 347; Martha Beverly 383; Jeb Owen 480; Jenny Willard and Keith Willard 392; Amanda Owen 454; Bill Beverly 106; Liz Owen 171; John Merritt 312b.

Announcements were made. Louis Hughes and Miranel Swafford led song on page 46 as the closing song. Eschol Hughes dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Louis Hughes; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Belinda Stansberry.