Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, near Ephesus, Georgia

June 16, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held on the third Sunday in June at the Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, near Ephesus, Georgia. Lonnie Rogers called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading songs on pages 75 and 106. Vice Chairman Felton Denney led songs on pages 31b and 277 and offered the morning prayer.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Secretary—Karen Rollins; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Karleen Williams.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 101t, 204; Kathy Williams 276, 53; Hugh McGraw 235 (for George Rogers who was unable to attend); Karen Rollins 489, 143 (for her mother, Vivian Rogers); Margie Smith 393; Karleen Williams 136, 290 (for George Rogers); Jeff Sheppard 234, 232; Carlene Griffin 283, 77b; Louis Hughes, Jr. 138b, 31t; Shelbie Sheppard 327, 326.


Lonnie Rogers brought the class to order leading song on page 298. Leaders: Charlene Wallace 267, 225t (for Gladys McGraw, Revy Williamson, and Reba Stanford); Everette Denney 127, 490; grandchildren and great-grandchildren of Felton Denney 294, 405; Berkley Moore 197, 348b; Rita Haley 268, 384; Louis Hughes, Sr. 74b, 201 (in memory of Polly Moore).

Chuck White gave a report for the committee that oversees the church. There is $2,420.76 in a checking account at BB&T; $2,284.74 in Regions bank; and 2 CDs at Regions bank worth $12,065.19 and $10,161.05. There are no current members of the church.


Felton Denney brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 299. Leaders: Eunice Webb 284, 512; Bobby Jackson 568, 569b; Mary Florence Smith 289, 40.

Karleen Williams conducted the memorial lesson and spoke about the sacredness of the grounds of Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church. Lonnie Rogers led song on page 335 for the deceased: Curtis Rogers, Lucille Bentley Cosper, Travis Kelley, Wilford Denney, Opal Bonner, Polly Moore, Jack Williams, and S.T. McClendon.

Karen Rollins, Karleen Williams, Paige Harrod, Sherry Louvorn, and Denney Rogers led song on page 45t for the sick and shut-ins: Ike Stanford, Lindy Stanford, Jo Thornton, Mozelle Sheppard, and Vivian Rogers. Felton Denney closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Wesley Haley 282, 34b; Louise Holland 35, 273; Tommy McGraw 58, 477; Nancy Yeager 452b, 303; Oscar McGuire 344, 441; Josephine Denney 147t, 341; David Yeager 448 (t? b?), 504; John Plunkett 569t, 539; Phillip Langley 142, 271t; Jimmie Denney 155, 313t; Rev. Gerald Rogers and Harold Rogers 59, 294; Philip Denney 84; Richard DeLong 467 (for Alice Edwards); Webster Denney 345b, 339; Karen Rollins, Karleen Williams, Paige Harrod, and Denney Rogers 318 (by request for Vivian Rogers).

Announcements were made. Lonnie Rogers, Felton Denney, and Louis Hughes, Sr. led song on page 343 as the closing song. Louis Hughes, Sr. dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Secretary—Karen Rollins.