Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

J.D. Starnes Memorial

Mt. Hope Baptist Church, Northeast of Sipsey, Alabama

February 3, 2002

The J.D. Starnes Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Mt. Hope Baptist Church on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading song on page 33b. The morning prayer was led by Brother Phillip Starnes. Velton Chafin led song on page 35.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Josie Hyde; Arranging Committee—Travis Keeton.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 225t (for Cecil Sanders who was unable to attend); Willodean Barton 460, 456; Lavaughn Ballinger 405, 84; Ida Lee Starnes 31b, 317; Beth O’Dell 270, 384; Ann Jett 448b, 141; Wilton Donaldson 503, 565; Flarce Creel 389, 454; Larry Ballinger 224, 222; Edith Tate 73t, 137.


Harrison Creel called the class back to order leading song on page 111b. Leaders: Ozella Blackmon 167; Ivalene Donaldson 204, 328; Lisa Geist 327, 171; Elvin Guthrie 410b, 482; Henry Guthery 135, 149; Margaret Keeton 181, 126; Marie Guthrie 220, 280; Glenn Keeton 294, 358 (in memory of Mrs. Merritt); Josie Hyde and Margaret Keeton 189, 193; Eldagene Roberson 385 (t? b?), 457; Billy Williams 147t, 288; Travis Keeton 297 (for John Hyde), 480; Harrison Creel 498, 512.

The pastor of the church, Brother Phillip Starnes, welcomed everyone, read verses of scripture from Corinthians, and offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Velton Chafin leading song on page 102. Leaders: Willodean Barton 145t; Flarce Creel 475; Ann Jett 269; Ida Lee Starnes 426t; Lavaughn Ballinger 401; Beth O’Dell 186; Edith Tate 138 (t? b?); Eldagene Roberson 29t; Ivalene Donaldson 166; Marie Guthrie 434; Lisa Geist 335; Elvin Guthrie 320; Larry Ballinger 50b; Glenn Keeton 278t; Josie Hyde 572; Margaret Keeton 213b; Henry Guthery 573; Travis Keeton 499, 235; Harrison Creel 342, 530; Lisa Geist 566, 546 (for John Hyde); Velton Chafin 517 (WB) (by request).

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin led song on page 45t as the closing song. Brother Phillip Starnes dismissed the class with prayer. We wish to thank Ida Lee Starnes for paying for the minutes.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Josie Hyde.