Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New York State Regional Singing

Farmers’ Museum, Cooperstown, New York

Saturday, August 11, 2001

The New York State Regional Singing was held at the Farmers’ Museum in Cooperstown, New York on Saturday before the second Sunday in August from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

The singing was called together by Barbara Swetman leading 34b. Dennis Leipold led the opening prayer.

Leaders: Barbara Swetman 40; Pat Geritz 503, 47t; Mary Ann Morrison 479, 344; Laura Timmerman 270, 34t; George Seiler 84, 68b.

Jean Seiler gave a brief introduction to shape note singing for those who were new using 49t and 209 as examples.

Leaders: Margaret Bornick 38b, 49b; Thom Metzger 312b, 168.


Dennis Leipold brought the class back together leading song on page 99. Leaders: Laura Densmore 528, 83t; Nancy Crawford 335, 497; Eileen Metzger 148, 383; Gina Balestracci 495, 207; Barbara Swetman 66, 299.

Katie Boardman of the Farmers’ Museum gave a presentation on “The Easy Instructor” tune book, the first four-shape tune book; then she led the following tunes: “Sherburne”, “Richfield”, and “Evening Hymn.”

Leaders: Dennis Leipold 182, 192; Lucy Roberts 452, 146; Denise Morris 58, 31t; Guy Bankes 311, 198; Susan Hanson 117, 142.


The afternoon session resumed with Barbara Swetman leading 145t. Leaders: Ron Bornick 178, 454; Roland Hutchinson “St. Martins”, “Bristol” (The Easy Instructor); Diane Mennella 472, 542; Juanita Heyerman 86, 87; Michael Ryan 53, 455.

Katie Boardman made a short presentation on “Indian Melodies”, a shape note book edited by Thomas Commuck, who resided in Oneida County for many years; she then led “Susquehannan,” “Missionary or White Pilgrim,” and “Iroquoi.”

Leaders: Jean Seiler 217, 236; Ellie Soler 114, 277.


Singing resumed with Margaret Bornick leading 474. Leaders: Laura Densmore “Ten Thousand Charms” (by request); Diane Mennella 203; Roland Hutchinson 250; Susan Hanson 269; Guy Bankes 504; Denise Morris “Cayuga” (“Indian Melodies”); Lucy Roberts 48t; Gina Balestracci 532; Eileen Metzger 102; Katie Boardman 141; Jean Seiler 200; Barbara Swetman and Ric Crislip 122; Nancy Crawford 229; Ellie Soler 156; Thom Metzger 101b; George Seiler 480; Michael Ryan 45t; Pat Geritz 163b; Dennis Leipold 475; Mary Ann Morrison 547; Laura Timmerman 373; Juanita Heyerman 131t; Margaret Bornick 347.

Announcements were made of upcoming singings. Barbara Swetman led song on page 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed with prayer led by Eileen Metzger.

Chairman—Barbara Swetman; Vice Chairman—Margaret Bornick; Secretary—Gina Balestracci.