Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, near Ephesus, Georgia

June 17, 2001

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held on the third Sunday in June at the Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, near Ephesus, Georgia. Lonnie Rogers called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading song on page 101t. Curtis Rogers offered the morning prayer. Felton Denney led songs on pages 31b and 31t, followed by B.M. Smith leading songs on pages 284 and 212.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Karleen Williams and Ruth Brown; Secretary—Karen Rollins.

Leaders: Lonnie Rogers 298; Karen Rollins 136, 143; Nancy Allen 146; Margie Smith 499; Shelbie Sheppard 167; Jimmie Denney 111t, 176t; LaRue Allen 112, 106; Hugh McGraw 413; Katherine Benefield and Joyce Clackum 405, 108t; Curtis Rogers 147t, 323b; George Rogers and G.W. Rogers, Jr. 40, 45t.


Lonnie Rogers brought the class to order leading song on page 222. Leaders: Kathy Williams 107, 385b; Louis Hughes, Jr. 276, 278b; Sharona Nelson 37b, 445b; Earlis McGraw 225t, 389; Beverly Rollins and Randa Harris 59, 268; Louis Hughes, Sr. 48t, 39t; Charlene Wallace 117, 326; Oscar McGuire 327, 573; Floy Wilder 195, 432; Sherry Louvorn 454, 373; Bill Denney 358, 164; Louise Holland 273, 144; Josephine Denney 145b, 100.

Chuck White gave a report on the church, grounds, and finances.


Felton Denney brought the class to order leading song on page 503. Leaders: Bobby Jackson 569b, 480; Glenda Collins 354b, 410t.

A memorial lesson was conducted by Karleen Williams. Felton Denney led song on page 231 for the deceased: Vedie Touchstone, Mary Lou Cagle, Jack Corley, Elder J.J. Aderhold, Eloise Watkins, Cecil Edwards, Walter Hamrick, Jack Smith, Margaret Rogers Morgan, Opal Huddlestone, Velma Smith, Erma Caldwell, Bobby Purgason, Ira Mae McCormack, Capitola Rollins, Kermon Denney, Barney Scott, and Brenda Yates.

Richard DeLong led songs on pages 75 and 98 for the sick and shut-ins: Beau Caldwell, Mary Gardner, Ike Stanford, Mozelle Sheppard, Elzie Cook, Cramer Rogers, Wilford Denney, Gladys McGraw, and Vivian Rogers. Curtis Rogers closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 110, 124; Mary Florence Smith 171, 29t; Tommy McGraw 33b, 475; Teenie Moody 275b, 317; Everette Denney 335; Lela Crowder 178, 155; John Plunkett 354t, 564; Laura Ackerman 189, 34t; Denney Rogers and Karleen Williams 318; Philip Denney 63, 120; Fran Adams 551, 159; the class sang 73b (for Alice Edwards who became ill and had to leave the singing).

Announcements were made. Lonnie Rogers and Felton Denney led song on page 46 as the closing song. Louis Hughes, Sr. dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Secretary—Karen Rollins.