Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Godsey Sisters Memorial Singing

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Double Springs, Alabama

March 18, 2001

The Godsey Sisters Memorial Singing in honor of Leona Horton, Maude Adams, Delia Watts, and Mina Adams was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Travis Keeton leading song on page 48t. Clayton Ezell offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—John Hyde; Arranging Committee—Josie Hyde; Secretary—Roma Rice.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 129; Stella Pratt 63, 452; Dawson Adams 134, 328; Corene White 73t, 171; Chris Rice 384, 34t; Julie Poston 145b, 343; Clayton Ezell 300, 475; L.E. Hannah 187, 389; Kermit Adams 78, 99; Ivalene Donaldson 77t; Azilee Adams 337, 317; Velton Chafin 225t (for Cecil Sanders), 35.


John Hyde brought the class back to order leading songs on pages 37b and 39b. Leaders: Jayne Fulmer 203, 272; John Merritt 168, 240; Vernice Phillips 112; Henry Guthery 283, 380; Emily Jones 471, 371; Wilton Donaldson 348b, 503; Willodean Barton 454, 418.

A memorial lesson was held in memory of the following people who have passed away this last year: Raymond Fannin, Marie Smith, Juanita Whitman, A.C. McGough, Hubert Hood, Rufus Mann, Gene Wakefield, Marie Aldridge, Anna Smith, Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Herbert Phillips, Eron White, Ted White, Fayrene Wakefield, and Winston Jones. Also remembered were those that are in the nursing home: Gladys Bonds, Rose Altha Taylor, and Elmer Conwill. Roma Rice led song on pages 285t and 420. Henry Guthery led song on page 408 for Ted White and Eron White. The memorial lesson was concluded.

Leaders: Parnell Berry 373, 306; Ida Lee Starnes 426t, 30t.


Travis Keeton called the afternoon session to order leading songs on pages 288 and 111b. Leaders: Kenneth Tate 480, 426b; Brenda Merritt 546, 542; Lavaughn Ballinger 84, 405; Loretta Whitman 101t, 100; Larry Ballinger 50 (t? b?); Lavaughn Ballinger (for Pernie Pelfrey) 67, 312b; Earl Ballinger 224, 208; Milford Watts 75, 378b; Billy Williams 450, 231; Josie Hyde 220, 234, 464.

Travis Keeton and John Hyde led song on page 179 as the closing song. Milford Watts dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—John Hyde; Secretary—Roma Rice.