Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Warrior River - Clear Creek Convention

Old Clear Creek Church

August 5-6, 1995

Saturday, August 5

The one hundred twenty-first session of the Warrior River Convention and the ninety-sixth session of the Clear Creek Convention was called to order by Cecil Gilliland leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was led by Lamar Smith. Cecil Gilliland led song on page 30t. Leaders: Carmon Brothers 32t, 35; Bud Oliver 39b, 47t; Paul Gilliland 490, 30b; Alpha Black 343, 454; Keterina Sanders 389, 290.


The singing resumed with Carmon Brothers leading songs on pages 27 and 31t. Leaders: Irene Jordan 480, 45t; Cecil Sanders 475, 123t; Roie Alexander 317, 313 (t? b?); Helen Lambert and Bernice Greer “That Beautiful Land”, 74b, 33b; Phil Brothers 236, 361; Lawrence and Lula Underwood 300, 358, 170; Martha Woodard 278t; Milton Oliver 277, 270; Linda Thomas 278t; Ester Brown 426 (t? b?); S. T. Reed 388, 166; Eloise Wootten 299, 171; Roy Nelson 294; Ruby Phillips 331, 345t; Elder Philip Gilmore and Paula Gilmore 77t, 566, 235.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Carmon Brothers leading song on page 159. Leaders: Lamar Smith 76b, 36b; Wayne Wootten 108t, 37b. The Chairman called for a business session. Elder Philip Gilmore brought the devotion from Psalms, Chpt. 18:1—“I will love thee, O Lord, my strength and my rock”, and then led in prayer. The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Gilliland; Vice Chairman—Elder Philip Gilmore; Secretary—Jewel Wootten; Arranging Committee—Milton Oliver and Cecil Gilliland; Memorial Committee—Linda Thomas; Resolutions Committee—Chita Blakeley; Finance Committee—Larry Lambert and Waylon Blakeley. Leaders: Marlon Wootten 39t, 99; Rhoda Norris 187, 460; Billy Williams 297, 445; Lydia Baswell, Vella Dailey 147t, 144; Hershell King 340, 101t; Larry Lambert 410t, 410b; Chita Blakeley 378t, 189; Freeman Wootten 63; Jewel Wootten 203; Elder Philip Gilmore 137; Milton Oliver 441, 97; Martha Woodard 204; Eugene Blackwood and Cecil Gilliland 100; Cecil Gilliland and Elder Philip Gilmore led the closing song on page 46. The closing prayer was led by Marlon Wootten.

Sunday, August 6

The Sunday session was called to order by Cecil Gilliland leading song on page 67. The morning prayer was led by Elder J. O. Handley. Leaders: Milton Oliver 224, 222; Paul Gilliland 32t, 569b; Larry Lambert 100, 332; Helen Lambert “Jesus Died For Me”, 277; Gavin Blakeley 128; Kyle Blakeley 101t; Melvin Hyatt 84, 317b; Wilda Holmes 295.


Cecil Gilliland brought the class together leading song on page 61. Leaders: Terry Hullett 290, 384; Waylon Blakeley 171, 31t; Eloise Wootten 47t, 424; Arvid Holmes 147t, 460; Marie Hyatt 30t, 145b; Roy Nelson 108t, 480; Willowese Malone 164, 354b; Shane Wootten 155, 99; Ester Brown 192, 434 for Mae Seymour and Aunt Lola Jenkins; Coy Ivey 120, 186; Jewel Wootten 85, 503; Marlon Wootten 49t, 49b; Martha Woodard 335, 87. At this time, the memorial lesson was held by Linda Thomas who read scripture from lst Thessalonians 4:13-18. She then read the names of those who are deceased since our last convention: Arville Hyatt, Lois Green, Ervin Brothers, Fay Allen, Helen Ivey Cordell, Lessie Cates, Ted Godsey, Dale Redmon, Sr., Forney Cobb, Leon Price, Viola Smith, John Norris, Jack Harcrow, and Hoyt Renfroe. Larry, Helen and Steven Lambert led 235 in memory of Ervin Brothers. Lamar Smith led 45t for the other deceased. Terry Hullett led 68b for the sick and shut-ins, including: Effie Brock, Mae Seymour, Nora Collett, Aver Crider, Lola Jenkins, Herbert Phillips, Eloise Avery, and Ozettia Gilliland. The memorial was closed with prayer by Elder J. O. Handley.


The afternoon session began by Cecil Gilliland leading song on page 137. Leaders: Terry Wootten “Willie”, 74 (t? b?), 205; Carmon Brothers 544b, 445b; Lydia Baswell “Not Made With Hands”, 549; Mary Ruth Steifel 333; Billy Williams 54; Alpha Black 454, 112. A business session was held, and the announcement was made that the 1996 Warrior River-Clear Creek Convention will be held at Hopewell Church near Oneonta, Alabama. The Resolutions Committee report was given by Linda Thomas. We, the Resolutions Committee, want to first and foremost thank God for His love and mercy which he has bestowed upon us. We resolve that the purpose of our Convention will always be to sing praises unto our Lord and King, and those praises be with a melody in our hearts. We want to encourage each person to continue on, and to remember that we should hold in high regards the heritage and tradition which has been passed on to us. We thank Old Clear Creek Church for allowing the Convention to be held here, and for those who prepared and served lunch each day. We look forward to singing with you again, and we hope the Lord will continue to guide and protect you. Respectfully submitted by Chita Blakeley. The Finance Committee reported a balance brought forward of $131.27, a collection of $100.34, an expenditure of $50.00 for minutes, gifts to church $50.34, leaving a balance on hand of $131.27. Leaders: Nathan Blackwood 58; Verlon Blackwood 47b, 75; Roie Alexander and Jewel Wootten 144; Terry Wootten 441, 97. Cecil Gilliland and Terry Hullett led the closing songs on pages 100 and 146, and all who wished joined in taking the parting hand, praying to meet again next year at Hopewell Church. The class was dismissed with prayer by Terry Hullett.

Chairman—Cecil Gilliland; Vice Chairman—Elder Philip Gilmore; Secretary—Jewel Wootten.